We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Clean Rooms, Great Customer Service and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Gateway Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64 White Oak Lane, US Hwy 441 & GA Hwy 246, Dillard, GA 30537 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Dillard)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dillard
Woodstock, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spacious Clean Rooms, Great Customer Service and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife, daughter and I visited here in Mid-October and enjoyed our experience. The rooms are clean and appear to be new; the beds were plush and comfortable and the room itself was very spacious! Also this Holiday Inn Express is located near various attractions in Dillard, GA and Highlands, NC. The customer service was very good also; we had a pleasant vacation and it was money well spent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
24
25
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adrian
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was about what I expect from Holiday Inn Express. The place was clean but worn. It definitely has some age. The bed was completely wore out, and if it had been a horse, it should have been put out of its misery. We were just passing through and called late night and got a room. The check-in person was very helpful, very kind and very nice. It was comforting after a long trip. The breakfast was OK and satisfying; the omelet was acceptable but I eat most anything. My wife didn't care for the breakfast. The price was very high considering the age but it is in north Georgia and we were there during the high season of the fall foliage. I'm would not plan a trip back but would stay again out of desperation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good/new bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night after visiting the Smoky Mountains en-route to Atlanta.
We were a little disappointed with this hotel after staying at several HI Express properties throughout our trip. We felt it fell below average, upon arriving in the room it had a strong musty smell and it was hot! We quickly turned on the Air Conditioning and sprayed some perfume around it either killed the smell or we got used to it.
The carpet felt dirty I made sure I wore my thongs (flip flops) around at all times.
We had a comfortable sleep, the breakfast was HI Express standard and the free wi-fi was good too.
We wouldn't stay here again and would choose somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear eeliechick,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are glad you had a comfortable sleep and you were satisfied with the breakfast and WIFI. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with your room accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Clean and comfy rooms, friendly front desk staff, and good, hot breakfast. I stayed here for two weeks on business and loved it. The front desk associates told us the best places to dine and to visit for fun. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Rabun County.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We were disappointed in this Holiday Inn Express. Shabby all the way. No automatic doors, elevator is not conveniently located, rooms are small, no AC on when we arrived, took 3hours to cool down. Minimum towels. old pillows smelled. Reminded me of a poorly operated
MicroTel. Tv worked great as did the Internet connection. Great restaurant nearby: country cupboard. Great fried chicken unspiced. wine service too. I had to say something nice...... Franklin, NC, is close by ,10 miles, and offers more and better choices. We made a big mistake and it was too late to move on. If in Franklin,eat at Rel's. Wonderful but no credit cards. We had to stay here because the power was off at our nearby home or I never would have picked this place. Grubby...and very dated. Poorly managed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear cheflars2,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please allow me to apologize for the room accommodations you received that did not live up to your expectations and any inconvenience you may have experienced. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights to see tallulah falls about 30 minutes away. We always stayed at a holiday inn express. This is the closest hotel near the fall and the previous reviews were very helpful. Friendly staff, clean environment, free breakfast (of course) and quiet area. Very close to North Carolina and the entrance to the Smokies.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I, our daughter, and two granddaughters recently stayed one night while traveling to North Carolina. We found this hotel to be a pleasant suprise in an area that does not have a wide selection of quality national chain brand lodging. The room on the first floor was pleasant and clean and very quiet. The hotel is located back from the main highway, so traffic noise is not an issue. The internet worked fine, much better than I had experienced earlier on our trip. The breakfast was quite good. Check out their pancake making machine! This hotel is a great value for your money!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites

Address: 64 White Oak Lane, US Hwy 441 & GA Hwy 246, Dillard, GA 30537 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Dillard)
Location: United States > Georgia > Dillard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dillard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dillard Hotel Dillard
Holiday Inn Dillard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.