We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Valley Inn

Save Saved
You added Mountain Valley Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain Valley Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Royalty Lane, Dillard, GA 30537 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Dillard)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Dillard
Jupiter
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Don't be fooled by the price. The Mountain Valley Inn in Dillard is a great value. Clean, convenient, good staff. My wife and I were traveling from Macon to Hignlands and didn't want to drive route 64 in NC after dark. The MVI was perfect. Older motel but the bathroom was clean, beds were good and staff was friendly and helpful. Not much going on in Dillard but the stay was OK. Would definitely recommend for a short stay. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montverde, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We looked for places in and around Clayton and Dillard Georgia for a short stay and landed here.

Looking in and around we were very supprised in the location, it was quite, no road noise and the building is tight. The comfort of the bedding was far above some of the "Name Brands" and to say it was clean would be an under-statement. Both of our rooms had microwaves and fridges and the layout was functional and spacious.

Check in and out was a pleasure. We did not do the breakfast in that we had other plans.

I will stay here again and suggest to others that when headed to Dillard or the surrounding area this is the best value for your money and a good nights rest can be found here.

Room Tip: we stayed in the right center downstairs, it was quite piecefull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had 2 rooms with a king bed in each, and we stayed 2 nights. One room was upstairs and one was on ground level. There were only a few other guests so there was no-one above, below, or on either side of either room. When they cleaned the room above us, you could certainly hear them walking around and vacuuming, etc. The second floor may be the better choice if there are a lot of guests.
The rooms were large and clean. The building was obviously old, but the rooms were bright and in good shape, The shower had the best pressure and volume of any room we've stayed in for quite some time. The bed linnens were clean and the bed was comfortable. The pillows were a bit stiffer than we are used to, so we used ones the we brought with us.
The rooms set back a ways from the road so noise was minimal. The property was well lit and we felt safe the whole time we were there. There is a very small play area and pool that appeared to be well maintained (it was raining so we didn't get to use it).
The breakfast was very basic with a toaster and several types of bread, several types of cereal, bagels, and danish.
These rooms worked well for us - and at $40/night it was great.
Be sure to eat at the Cupboard cafe next door!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was skeptical of the Mountain Valley Inn because of the price, but I knew I was traveling with my older dog and needed a place to stay that would be accommodating. There was only a $10 per night pet fee. They even changed rooms for me to the bottom floor to make it easier on my dog so she didn't have to go up and down the steps. I thought the rooms would smell since it is pet friendly but they didn't at all. At first I didn't see much grass for pets to use the bathroom but if you go around to the back of the inn there is a huge open grass area with a beautiful mountain view. There is nothing built behind this inn which is amazing. The rooms were basic with a small shower and small sink area but if you are just sleeping in your hotel at night and traveling during the day this place is perfect. The front office staff were very friendly and helpful. I will definitely be staying here again and soon!

Room Tip: I had a downstairs room and every now and then you could hear the people walking above you, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were worried about this hotel due the cost to stay being so low. We were surprised to find friendly staff, very clean and comfortable room. We will definitely be returning to stay here. They had beautiful grounds, pool, playground, all the amenities that you expect at name brand hotel. Even had continental breakfast. Try a stay here. Its very inexpensive you too will be amazed!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay here but after an awful dinner at the Dillard house the night before we took a chance here at their BBQ/Italian restaurant. The place looks like a dive but the food and service were incredible. My daughter and I had burgers while my wife had a grilled cheese. It tasted better than eating at a cheesesteak or any other chain. The kind of burger you don't want to forget. Even the tater tots and fries were fresh not frozen. and I couldn't empty my soda cup they were that fast. We took a pizza home for snacks later and boy did they not disappoint. Even though we were on vacation, this is the kind of place you want to bring back home with you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Valley Inn

Address: 13 Royalty Lane, Dillard, GA 30537 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn - Dillard)
Location: United States > Georgia > Dillard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Dillard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Valley Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.