We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Big" hotel in a small small town : )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory to your Saves list
Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Clairemont Avenue, Decatur, GA 30030 (Formerly Holiday Inn Decatur Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
US
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“"Big" hotel in a small small town : )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Located in tiny Decatur,GA, this hotel that is only a short walk from downtown decatur's boutiques, unique eating options, the college, etc., is a fantastic hotel attached to a small convention center.

Courteous staff!

Pros:
-good location for anything in Decatur
-Nice rooms, modern, new and clean
-24 hour goodie shop with basic staples, snacks and beverages
-well equipped central atrium has multiple entertainment nooks, seating areas, workstations for free
-mini cafe sells hot breakfast
-close to everything

Cons:
-expensive goodie shop - go behind to CVS or Kroger instead (see below)
-noise from internal atrium gets to internally faced rooms because of single paned windows. Since this hotel is popular for wedding parties, this can be problematic at night.
-no free hot breakfast; go to Thumbs Up Diner or Starbucks instead (equally 3 minutes walk away)
-parking is initially difficult, and $4-5 per day. Must find subterranean garage behind hotel. If making multiple exits, it's cheaper to pay through the hotel. If leaving car stowed during the duration of stay, pay through the garage.

Overall very satisfied.

CVS is behind the hotel (west), and Kroger is a block away to the North. I was there for a wedding, and CVS was great for all the things you need last minute, including stuff for sick babies, as was the case for the wedding party. The Starbucks on the corner was awesome to have as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    79
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
54
22
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights this past weekend for my son's wedding nearby. Almost all of the out of town guests stayed here. Their large lobby with many tables easily accommodated our "gatherings" in between festivities for the wedding. The staff member at check-in could not have been more pleasant and helpful suggesting nearby places to eat. He had us checked in immediately with no hassles. All of the staff we encountered was very helpful and friendly. The location is only a half block from the square which is surrounded by restaurants and shops on all sides for three or four blocks. So for a neat getaway weekend you could stay here and park your car and never move it until you leave. The one negative is the parking. They do charge you $8 per day. It is a city parking lot which they share. It is underground parking which keeps your car covered but it is tight to maneuver and the spaces are very narrow due to support columns. So large trucks and SUV's beware! The entire hotel has been very recently remodeled. Our room was very clean and well laid out with plenty of room including the bathroom. The bed was excellent!!! They have a large convention center so if you have a meeting there or in the area or just want that getaway weekend try the Courtyard Downtown/Emory.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They got my reservation wrong. Right now I still have two different amounts holding in my bank account which is annoying. I got there and had to wait for 20 minutes to figure out what was going on with my room--which I think was given away, but then again they never clarified. After I had to go and get the cart to get my stuff up to the room (which was quite heavy), the key cards did not work. So, I had to make another trip down to the lobby to get it fixed. No one was apologetic about anything.

The room was pretty, but there was a crusty white stain down the side of the chair. I don't even want to think what that substance was.

The room smelled like mildew, and I requested a king bed, but was given two queens.

It is what it is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Benton, Minnesota
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a great hotel. I guess it's recently remodeled and it shows. The rooms are very nice and the lobby is beautiful. The staff here were all just excellent. They were some of the nicest hotel employees I have ever had. The hotel is situated in a great little neighborhood. It's within walking distance of dozens of restuarants. You could stay there for a week and eat somewhere different and unique for every meal (no food chains). My only complaint about the hotel was the noise. From my room I could hear everything that was going on in the hallway. Every door that was open and every conversation. Hopefully they invest in some insulated doors and then the place would be perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a great stay. Found the hotel on priceline. Very courteous staff. Beautiful rooms, great hotel lobby with free internet. Great location. The only complaint while I was there where a few glitches being worked out with the cable TV . Also the parking elevator was broken so you had to take stairs to lobby and that was pretty inconvenient and creepy at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Was visiting friends in Decatur and needed somewhere quiet and central. Good hotel clean and quiet and has good parking access and is a decent business type hotel. It is in Decatur, but was a fine example of an upgraded Marriott Courtyard.

Room Tip: Outside room. We had 547 which was quiet and faced North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A typical pretentious hotel model that works and don't. The general architecture is ugly, the interior architecture is poor with horrible acoustics i the central hall - or courtyard. Is is bad? Far from it. The rooms are wonderful, the bed is fantastic - and that is what counts. The location is also good, within minutes from the village centre with its bars and restaurants. And access by car is very good, with ample parking in the basement. The front desk was very helpful, polite and friendly. Of course. So bottom line is, when you visit this area the hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: I stayed in a regular room with a king bed - and that was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory

Address: 130 Clairemont Avenue, Decatur, GA 30030 (Formerly Holiday Inn Decatur Conference Center)
Location: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Decatur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of historic downtown Decatur with over 50 restaurants and shops within a 3 mile radius of the hotel.The new state-of-the-art lobby at Courtyard Decatur Downtown/Emory provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your destination for a great breakfast, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center and indoor pool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! We offers spacious meeting rooms, breakouts,pre-function and event space. Our new facilities offer flexible space and our experienced staff is dedicated to making your event a success. From corporate meetings to joyous celebrations, we’ll bring your visions to reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory Hotel Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur Hotel
Decatur Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Atlanta Decatur Downtown/Emory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.