We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drink, eat, & be merry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brick Store Pub

The Brick Store Pub
125 E Court Sq, Decatur, GA 30030-2521
404-687-0990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 314 Restaurants in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Madison CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Drink, eat, & be merry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

An AMAZING variety of craft beers/ale, imported beers, and whiskeys!
Typical Pub food and very accommodating kitchen with plenty of locovore samplings.
I went at lunchtime & amazingly found a parking place right out front - doesn't happen often. Enjoyable little shops within immediate walking distance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    103
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Its hard to beat the Brick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great place for meeting up, drinks and vast beer selection. I think the food is great. For bar food it is way above the ordinary and serve they some of the best Fish and Chips in town... as well as healthier fare. The atmosphere make it one of the best places in town to go. It has charm and history. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's all about the Belgian Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Recently we moved to Decatur, GA. Friends recommended the Brick Store Pub. The atmosphere is very warm and inviting. The beer selection is phenomenal! Staff upstairs in the Belgian Bar were super helpful. Brought several samples until we made our final decision. The food was marginal. Not bad but not WOW either. I think I'd go for an appetizer or go to eat somewhere else and come for a fun Belgian Bar experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great beer and atmosphere, food barely OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have been to this place many times, including last night. Overall, consistently great beer, atmosphere and service but food is only OK. A little more detail on last night's visit which illustrates the general impressions above.
We went to BSP around 8:40 on Thursday, place was packed, there was a 15 min wait for a table. To avoid that, we went upstairs to the Belgian bar, and after a few minutes of looking around, a helpful waiter steered us to along-the-wall bar-type seating - pretty tight but that is part of the charm of a place full of happy people drinking great beer. The atmosphere was great as always, nice pub-y interior without being pretentious. But the highlight is of course the beer. I had the St. Bernardus, which is a beautiful beer, rich and complex and strong, but easy to drink and enjoy. My son (underage) had bottled root beer (Virgil's), good. We ordered the burger, and fish and chips. The burger was OK maybe OK+ but nothing more, fairly standard and uninspired treatment; also, we ordered it "medium", it was more "medium-well". For the fish and chips, I asked the waiter whether is was comparable to the UK treatment, he assured me that people from UK said it was. Well, it wasn't. I just came back from the UK about a month ago from a weekly visit, since we went out every night could at least see several different treatments and had it 2-3 times myself. So my experience in London was the "fish" is a glorious, large fillet hanging out of your plate, thinly battered. The fish at BSP is cut in smaller chunks and the quantity is less than half from the UK one; the batter is thick and oily - so, not even close on the fish part. Chips (fries) were OK.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A welcome surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

we asked a local where to get a bite to eat for lunch and told to try the Brick Store
Food was excellent, price most reasonable and their beer selection amazing
I will be back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brick Store Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Brick Store Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brick Store Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.