We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Alsace

Cafe Alsace
121 E Ponce De Leon Ave, Decatur, GA 30030-2511
404-373-5622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 313 Restaurants in Decatur
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classy and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Cafe Alsace is known for its delicious food. It is reasonably priced and elegantly presented. The best part of this restaurant is the warm, friendly service and the feeling of being in a private dining room. It is easy to have a pleasant conversation with your dining partners because of the cozy nature of the room. Highly recommend for special occasions and meeting any friend you really want to be able to talk to for lunch!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    18
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Old World Charm and Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The only upscale restaurant in Decatur where you can actually hear the person sitting next to you. The service is very French and efficient. They know their wines and foods. There are many great items on the menu. It's a fine place for a leisurely dinner with friends.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A taste of Paris for sure”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

If you've never been to Paris and experienced how rude French people can be, you're in luck! Just go to café Alsace and you will get to experience the rude owner and the Food Court calibre experience this place has to offer!

The owner is very defensive if asked about anything on her menu. I think she should be because the only thing that resembles fine French food are the heavy sauces she uses to cover up her sub-par ingredients. Good French food is fabulous, too bad this place does not deliver--unless you miss being abused by a snotty French person.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat in Decatur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I find myself returning to Cafe Alsace again and again whenever I am in Decatur which is not nearly enough. This is my favorite restaurant in this charming town. The food is consistently delicious. I love that it is piping hot when brought to the table. Each meal is satisfying and the service is friendly and personal.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Decatur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

A small, charming, downtown Decatur restaurant that's tres French. I have to go a couple of times every winter to have their Cassoulet, it's incredible. I have loved every meal I have ever had there and their desserts are the best. Very friendly people too. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Alsace also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Alsace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Alsace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.