We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Alsace

Cafe Alsace
121 E Ponce De Leon Ave, Decatur, GA 30030-2511
404-373-5622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 289 Restaurants in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
East Meadow, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“just mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This restaurant looked like a little French gem. The decor was charming, but the food was terrible...at least for a French restaurant. There was far too much cheese on all the dishes, and the crepes were loaded like burritos. I suppose that many people like it there since the restaurant was crowded, but I will not be returning.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    21
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A taste of France in Georgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I try to eat here every time I come to Decatur. The decor is charming as is the owner. The food is outstanding. I have loved everything I have tried on the menu. The lunch quiches are comfort food at its flaky buttery best. I'm not sure about the reviewer who said there are no bathrooms - yes, there are.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Food was outstanding and so was service! Did not like it because there was no bathroom available to customers!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's like eating in Alsace, France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is one of my favorite places to eat. It's intimate (tiny actually) romantic, cozy and most importantly DELICIOUS. The owner is such a sweet wonderful lady that it makes the food even better than it already is. It's a gem that I'm glad isn't so popular that I can usually get a table.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A real gem in Atlanta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful surprise in Atlanta. Eclectic French decor and great food at very reasonable prices. Full French wine list. Excellent beef Wellington and real Mousse chocolate. Try the Brie it's amazing

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Alsace also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Alsace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Alsace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.