We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For first-rate French cuisine in Decatur, try Cafe Alsace.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Alsace

Cafe Alsace
121 E Ponce De Leon Ave, Decatur, GA 30030-2511
404-373-5622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 314 Restaurants in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“For first-rate French cuisine in Decatur, try Cafe Alsace.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

On a recent visit to Decatur, Ga., my sister took my wife and I to Cafe Alsace. This tiny restaurant, which feels authentic, has the cuisine to match. The soups, both standards, such as Onion, and more exotic ones, such as Chestnut, were delicious. Several of us had a crepe filled with a creative variety of seafood, goat cheese and veggies. Service was attentive. Although I had little room, I couldn't resist the Pear tart, which was terrific. I look forward to dining here again on my next visit to Decatur.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    21
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, GA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Our favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family all loves Cafe Alsace and we have been frequent visitors for the past 15 years. The food is always outstanding, the owner and staff delightful and professional people and the ambience give you the feeling of both being in France and being in someone's home. My favorites here are pate, the freshly made pie, Spaetzle Alsacienne, Choucroute Garnie and cassoulet.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I've always loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Whenever I need a 'hit' of France this is my go-to place...it is so authentic from the color scheme, to the wall decor, the food and several French-speaking staffers...I've eaten at bistros just like this in France so many times. It's the best.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Alsace ecstasy in Georgia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just returned from Alsace, France and went to the Alsace Cafe in Decatur to enjoy the memories of the trip---the ambiance, the menu, the food, the wine and the service are exactly the same as in France. It was excellent from the appetizers to the dessert. Plan to relax and enjoy the evening because there is no rush and the service is excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“How I miss paris.......when I need a dose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I dont gett there often enough.. Always a delight. Now that I write t realize I am past due to visit again. I cant say I have a favorite item....but I have never had a bad or even average one. Always top notch. Coffee is wonderful. Deserts devine. But I love the savory appetizers the best.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Alsace also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Alsace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Alsace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.