We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great desserts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pinewood Tippling Room

The Pinewood Tippling Room
254 West Ponce de Leon Ave, Decatur, GA 30030
404.373.5507
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pinewood Tippling Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 314 Restaurants in Decatur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ponce De Leon Place
Transit: Close to Marta train train station and on main bus line.
Description: The Pinewood is a neighborhood restaurant & bar that serves extraordinary cocktails and reinterpreted regional fare in downtown Decatur, Georgia. We appreciate equally the high-class and the home-spun, and we think a neighborhood hangout ought to be both. That’s why our menu features elegantly inventive dishes alongside creative comfort foods, all of them made from locally sourced ingredients. Our bar is stocked with not only the top-shelf spirits you’d expect but also house-made syrups, tinctures, infusions and sodas. Our service is friendly and gracious, our atmosphere both comfortable and refined.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great desserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went in for after dinner drinks and dessert.
Desserts are really good, service is quick and friendly.
Cocktails are first class!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Inventive cocktails and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Date night with my husband. Enjoyed cocktails off the daily specials menu and the regular menu, all of which were inventive and delicious. Loved the starter of fried brussel sprouts! And our dinner of fried chicken and savory waffles was delicious and beautifully prepared. The service was friendly and prompt and the decorations and atmosphere were warm and welcoming. The room is quite small though, so I would recommend visiting on a weekday if possible, like we did. We will most definitely visit again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cocktails and Good Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Date night. The atmosphere is nice, the drinks are fun, the service is good, the food arrives in a flash (We were there early on a Saturday.), but best of all was the food. Everything was very good. This place fancies itself a cocktail bar, but the food alone is worth the journey. (Order the crispy pork belly app.) I would have liked a fish main dish, but the only seafood was shrimp.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Saturday night stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stopped (I had a coupon) and was pleasantly surprised. When we arrived, there was only one couple at the bar. Before we left though it was getting a little crowded. Special of fried brussel sprouts was surprisingly good (Of course you must like brussel sprouts). My friend has ox tails and she indicated that they were pretty good. I had chicken and waffles. While the waffles were different than what I am used to, the overall dish was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I purchased a scoutmob for this restaurant a couple of months ago and visited for brunch. I love the space, the decor, the wood bar is awesome. The food is really good and tastes fresh. The bartender/mixologist/libation master is phenomenal - he can shake the crap out of drink!!! A real skill. The staff seems friendly - I really enjoyed it, cant wait to go back for dinner

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pinewood Tippling Room also viewed

 

Been to The Pinewood Tippling Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pinewood Tippling Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.