We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ublike any market you have ever been in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Your Dekalb Farmers Market

Your Dekalb Farmers Market
3000 East Ponce De Leon Avenue, Decatur, GA 30030
(404) 377-6400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Shopping in Decatur
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Attraction details
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ublike any market you have ever been in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This gigantic supermarket has more exotic ethic foods, fresh veges, etc than anywhere in the country! Fruits & veges are always fresher, and thus a better value than any chain market. Also highly recommend their baked goods, especially the challah bread and the bagels. Spices are super cheap here... so stock up! Also has a huge wine selection. The cafeteria & bakery bar is a big draw.
Caveat emptor: wear a jacket (no matter how hot it is outside, as it is cold in here). Also, they do not take credit cards.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    33
    1
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great cafeteria amidst great groceries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My brother has taken me to the Dekalb Farmers Market several times for lunch which I'm in town to visit. The food is always good and cheap. We have always eaten in, but you can have it as take out too. It's open from 11 am to 8 pm. It's a great way to eat a lot of yummy veggies.
I'm only sorry that I don't live in the area because I would do my grocery shopping there too. I have bought fruit and cheese there as well as jams and jellies as souvenirs for my husband back in Boston.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh veggies and a world experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have been shopping at DeKalb Farmer's Market since it first opened in the 80's. With every expansion, it has become better and included foods from around the world. Fresh seafood, fresh chicken and beef that has never been frozen....grain fed all natural. Everything well displayed and a wine selection to compete with anyone. Sometimes so crowded you have trouble moving through the store because so many people are just staring at all the options.....pick your times and it is great fun!!! Very educational for kids too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Loved seeing all the foods (foreign an domestic). Take a jacket and hat to stay warm like the staff. Spent several hundred dollars on nicely priced wine and hard to find food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“International farmers market had it all.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I read all reviews and agree with all comments. A must do activity. Every kind of organic food, baked goods, snacks, fruit and veggies are there. Never seen so many varieties of beer and wine and cheese. Truly from all over the world. Please know it is a warehouse looking building but once you start shopping you will get caught up in the international bazaar atmosphere. Have fun, wear comfy shoes and bring jacket as it is chilly in building.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Your Dekalb Farmers Market also viewed

 

Been to Your Dekalb Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Your Dekalb Farmers Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.