We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mission, Great Facilities, Great Food, and Great People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Len Foote Hike Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawsonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Len Foote Hike Inn
Save
You added Len Foote Hike Inn to your Saves list
Amicalola Falls State Park, Dawsonville, GA 30534   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Dawsonville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Mission, Great Facilities, Great Food, and Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to go to the Hike Inn 7 times. The first two visits were with my wife, and the last five were overnight field trips with 5th and 6th graders.

As a couples retreat, the Hike Inn provides a wonderful means to leave it all behind and put you and your spouse in an environment that encourages quality time with one another. You will meet other couples doing the same thing, from all around and from all backgrounds.

As a location to take children, the Inn is unrivaled. There are plenty of games for kids to play, they are in the WOODS, and the staff is very accommodating. I would suggest, though, not allowing children to free range too much. The only negative reviews I've ever read have been of people letting their kids run wild and unsupervised, which is not the manament's fault.

The Mission of the Inn is largely conservation education. The children I've been able to bring were funded by a concert of the Georgia Appalachian Trail Club and Len Foote Hike Inn efforts. Without this partnering, the roughly 75 children they have hosted on trips I've been on would never have happened. So...in a nutshell, they put their money where their mouth is! Great discussion about ecology, botany, decomposition, and waste products :-).

The facilities @ the inn are well kept and in good running order. You need to understand that you are not going to the Hilton. Some reviews mention thin walls; please remember everything @ the Inn is geared toward conservation, to include using minimal building materials. Bunk rooms, bathroom facilities, and common areas have always been clean.

The food is high quality and WONDERFUL after hiking in. I'm also a big fan of the coffee; it was @ one time the shade-grown sort, though I'm not certain if that's the case now. You'll be lucky if you get some spoon bread for breakfast...it's fantastic!

As with all similar undertakings, a great experience does not manifest itself without great people. The staff have always been courteous, informed, and helpful. Wade has been running the operation for the last several years and does a fantastic job making sure everything is in order. Volunteers have been helping out in the kitchen nearly every time I've been there. I even met a wonderful lady who is responsible for most of the wild plants around the facilities on my last visit.

In summary, you won't be disappointed with the experience the Len Foote Hike Inn presents. If you enjoy making great memories, go make them about 5 miles in from the trailhead, located at the top of Amicalola Falls.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    19
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
42
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at the Hike Inn. Their conservation efforts are interesting and admirable and while the weather wasn't ideal, we still had a fantastic experience. It was a beaufitul, well maintained trail to a clean picturesque location. Rooms were nice, although walls are a little thin. Overall a really cool experience. Keep up the great work!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austell, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Rustic but nice! The stay at this Leeds certified Inn is all the more rewarding by the fact that everyone who wants to stay the night must hike 5 miles to enjoy the Inn. The trip is a unique experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

You don't have to be a strong hiker, just reasonably fit and able to walk a moderately up-and-down five mile trail, even taking 4-5 hours if need be. Sleeping accommodations are Spartan, but comfortable; food is always great (and certainly plentiful!). Bathhouse is remarkably clean and odorless; hot showers are nice. Sunrise viewing is excellent!
For the stronger hikers, I suggest what we recently did - stay 2 nights and use the day in between to do the moderately strenuous hike to Springer Mtn to check out the southern terminus of the Appalachian Trail.
Third time if stayed there. Always a treat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great place. You can only get there though a five mile rigorous hike up 1000 elevation. The staff is great. You will have take showers and use restroom at bath house. The bath house is well maintain. The food here is definitely four stars. This place is not for the resort type.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Hike Inn is a wonderful experience for the outdoor enthusiast. A nice five mile hike up to the Inn from Amicalola Falls State Park. Basically all the comforts of home, but no TV or phones. Rooms are very small but efficient equipped with bunk beds. Toilet facilities are located in a separate building with a side for men and women. Included is dinner and a breakfast with both meals being exceptional. They will even give you a gentle wake up call so you can watch the sunrise. I have stayed at the Hike Inn three times and will definitely go again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful food, exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, unique relaxing experience! Will definitely recommend to others and be back myself. Was surprised at the few negative reviews I read here. However, the meager few and their content seem to tell much more about the writers and their off base expectations/perceptions than reality regarding the inn. The inn doesn't pretend to be something it isn't. But, at least as far as I am concerned, what it is is wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Len Foote Hike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Len Foote Hike Inn

Address: Amicalola Falls State Park, Dawsonville, GA 30534
Location: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dawsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Len Foote Hike Hotel Dawsonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Len Foote Hike Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.