We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amicalola Falls State Park

Amicalola Falls State Park
240 Amicalola Falls State Park Road, Dawsonville, GA 30534
706-265-4703
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 attractions in Dawsonville
Type: State Parks, Waterfalls, Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Bodies of Water
Activities: Hiking, Backpacking, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Home to more than 1,500 acres of mountainous terrain and the highest waterfall east of the Mississippi River.
Ellijay, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took the 425 step route to the top of the falls. Overall the view is great and the falls are wonderful. We have been to many different water falls throughout the Country and in Mexico and this rates up there, but its no Yellowstone but its worth the time to see and the views are worth it.

So go and enjoy, it's worth your time and the climb!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    97
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austell, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice GA State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a great park with a beautiful waterfall. there are great hiking trails. For accommodation there is a lodge, cabins, a campground or the Len Foote Hike Inn.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elyria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Location, Views And Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We as tourist from Ohio wanted to visit northern part of Georgia, especially the Amicalola Falls. Before we left home, couple of the reviews on this site discouraged us about staying at the Fall's lodge.So we reserved a room in a chain motel in Dawson ville. Upon arriving in that city we found that motel surrounded in a business district which not appealing to us. At that point we called the Lodge and stayed there 2 nights. Our room had a large picture window with a beautiful view of the sunset over the mountains. The breakfast food was good, moderate price, dining area having a great view of a valley and the mountains. The Falls were very special and located nearby. The lodge and the falls are a very good bet to visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You never want to need the help of the park rangers, but it's nice to know they are friendly and ready to help when you need them.

My 4 year old daughter got a splinter deep in her hand from the wooden hand rail along the stairs at the top of the falls. The visitor center rangers assisted my sister, who is a nurse, with all the supplies needed to remove the splinter. The ranger was extra nice to my crying daughter, making her laugh by teasing her about having knocked a tree down to get a splinter that big. He even gave her a free piece of candy afterward.

The hike along the falls was tough for our group, but we made it. 5 adults, two 4 year olds, and two 2 year olds. We all took turn carrying the kids who didn't want to walk anymore. The hike starts with a steep incline, and then has 604 steps. There are plenty of places to stop with benches and areas for taking pictures.

There's also a parking lot at the bottom and top of the falls, if you prefer to drive. We had 2 adults drive to the top and walk back down meeting us halfway, so that our kids didn't have to make the hike back down.

Be prepared for cooler temperatures... we were there in early March, and the breeze off the water and the shade of the trees made the air considerably cooler as we hiked. Down at the visitor's center it was much warmer.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Worth the hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Took the girls in my Girl Scout troop on a hike at Amicalola Falls. There was a class by one of the rangers at the vivsitor center and it was great. She was very knowledgeable and full of great information about the wildlife in the park. There are also several animals on display inside. The hike is streuous- I believe 604 steps each way- but totally worth it. There are places to rest on the climb up. We had a picnic at the top as we looked at the amazing landscape. We had wobbly legs when we got to the bottom and were amazed that we actually did it!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amicalola Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Amicalola Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amicalola Falls State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amicalola Falls State Park to your Saves list