We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service above and beyond 5-Star hotels in NYC, PLUS it's clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Beartooth Pkwy, Dawsonville, GA 30534   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dawsonville
West Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service above and beyond 5-Star hotels in NYC, PLUS it's clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed during the week in late May 2010 - already sweltering heat. The AC worked like a charm and didn't have any smells (gross or perfumey-cover-up) coming from it. Room was very clean, as was bathroom. Basic toiletries provided, which is always nice because I inevitably forget something. Fridge & microwave in the room are a plus, as I travel with my special needs son who requires a special diet that I bring from home. (And we pack heavily - our overnight stay requires what appears to be a month's worth of packing. Thank goodness they have the luggage carts!) Our beds were very comfortable and obviously made with clean bedding. But all the compliments go to the staff, particularly the manager Shelby. The morning we checked out, while I was in the bathroom, my autistic son locked his anti-seizure meds in the room safe. The bolt on the safe jammed because he packed the safe with other things, too. I was freaking out - ALL of his meds were in that safe and housekeeping nor manager Shelby could open the safe. We had to be in Cumming at 12 for my son's therapy, so I had to leave after Shelby had spent over half an hour, on her back on the floor, trying to open the safe. I got five minutes down the road and I was about to call the neurologist to see what could be done, when Shelby called - she had gotten the safe open and retrieved the meds! I can guarantee you that most hotel/motels would've quit trying the minute I left. Comfort Inn Dawsonville may be a 2 star hotel, but we've stayed in 5 star hotels in NYC and never had staff that actually cared beyond the expectations of their jobs. I would recommend to anyone staying in Dawsonville or with business in the surrounding areas to stay at this Comfort Inn - the service alone is worth a little extra drive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
15
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stopped here for an overnight stay as we wanted to climb to the top of Springer Mountain. This was a very nice place, comfy beds, good selection of breakfast foods in a roomy eating area, and right across the street from the outlet mall. We had a 2nd floor room which was fine, but for those who have problems with stairs, there is no elevator. There were several nearby restaurants, along with a Kroger, where we we bought dinner and snacks. My son and I went to the outlet mall for a few hours and finished off the day in the Comfort Inn fitness center.

All in all I'd recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelbyda, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise regarding your stay with us.

Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding. Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts, and takes the time to say thanks.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. We strive to provide the best customer service possible to our guests at all times. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Shelby Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I stayed here the two nights before my wedding. The staff was phenomenal. The entire wedding party enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
498 reviews 498 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Overall, the Comfort Inn is a great Dawsonville option for simple, friendly lodging.

Some positives:
*Walk to a nearby gas station for snacks & drinks
* Incredibly friendly and helpful staff that treat you like family and make you feel at home (Shane, in particular)
*Short drive to groceries and shopping
*A bit off of the main road for some peace and quiet

A few negatives
*Hard to find / cannot see the hotel easily from the highway
*No elevator for getting heavy luggage to your 2nd floor room (this was difficult for my parents and, unfortunately, no 1st floor rooms remained that evening)

Bottom line: If you want a clean, simple place to stay in Dawsonville where the friendly, smiling staff make you feel at home, check out the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Comfort Inn was a very comfortable and pleasing place to stay. We had two families and both had two children in each room. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. We also liked the fact that the pool had a rubbermaid storage shed filled with pool towels, toys, and life vests. We were very pleased with the friendly and courteous staff as well. You receive a nice continental breakfast and wonderful overall place to stay. The only trouble spot was when we made the reservation and were asked if we wanted rooms next to one another. When we arrived our rooms were not adjoining but had a wall that separated us. When we went to the front desk and asked about the room that adjoined us we were told it was not available. Then asked if there were any adjoining rooms available and was told no. Next time we know to make sure the rooms are adjoining.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelbyda, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2009
The staff at the Comfort Inn of Dawsonville wish to extend to you a hearfelt “Thank You” for your support and the comment you sent to Trip Advisor.

The confidence you extended to us made way for our hotel to receive the prestigious Gold Award for 2008/09 from Choice Hotels International.

We pledge to provide award winning service in 2009 and beyond. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

CORDIALLY,

SHELBY HARRIS
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

The motel is across the road from the North Georgia Premium Outlets - and along Rte 400 are an assortment of chain restaurants. All very middle-of-the-road - the motel and the restaurants. We had a whirlpool suite (2 person whirlpool tub) - but because the room was at the far end of the hall the wireless signal was either weak or non-existent - we couldn't stay online very long. No elevator so beware 2nd floor rooms. Continental breakfast wasn't very good. We've stayed here many times since my mother lives nearby and there are not a lot of other options

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelbyda, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2009
The staff at the Comfort Inn of Dawsonville wish to extend to you a heartfelt “Thank You” for your support and the comments you sent to Trip Advisor.

The confidence you extended to us made way for our hotel to receive the prestigious Gold Award from Choice Hotels International for the 2008/09 year.

We pledge to provide award winning service in 2009 and beyond. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,



Shelby Harris, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We were in the area for a wedding in Dahlonega, but wanted to stay close to the outlet mall. Well this was as close as you could get...right across the street! On a side note, this is one of the best outlet malls my husband & myself have ever been to! The staff at this hotel were wonderful! Very helpful & there was a nice continental breakfast in the morning. Planned to bring our dog, as this is a pet-friendly hotel, which we ended up not doing but the staff even went out of their way to give us a room close to a side exit so that we could take him out easily. Room were updated & spotless, great price, great location....just a great overall stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelbyda, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2009
The staff at the Comfort Inn of Dawsonville wish to extend to you a heartfelt “Thank You” for your support and the comments you sent to Trip Advisor.

The confidence you extended to us made way for our hotel to receive the prestigious Gold Award from Choice Hotels International for the 2008/09 year.

We pledge to provide award winning service in 2009 and beyond. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,



Shelby Harris, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 127 Beartooth Pkwy, Dawsonville, GA 30534
Location: United States > Georgia > Dawsonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dawsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Dawsonville
Dawsonville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.