We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view and great seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skipper's Fish Camp

Skipper's Fish Camp
85 Screven St, Darien, GA 31305-9851
912-437-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 restaurants in Darien
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Stunning view and great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went twice to Skippers - and it has been quite an experience each time. Got some seats outside of the Oyster Bar and tasted the blackened shrimp and fried oysters plus the good beer from one of the micro breweries. There was a singer inside of the bar playing music, plus the view of the river and the shrimp boats - what more to expect.

Got eaten alive by the mosquitos, but it was well worth it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    241
    90
    26
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great waterside dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Food always has been good-my 2nd time visit w family-service excellent-hushpuppies rock-i had blackened grouper salad n was delish-brunswick stew pretty good-everyone loved their shrimp-wife had salad was fine n good kids menu-kids love the turtle pond n bean bag toss outside-great rocking chairs too-its right on the water so great view-lil cold inside so bring a coat if you are prone to chilly

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swainsboro, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food and a Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped by Skipper's for lunch on our way to Jekyll Island. Service and food was good, and it was reasonably priced. Always nice to eat looking over the water.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing scallops!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a lovely spot for dinner with great service and an extensive menu. My favorite was the scallops wrapped in prosciutto appetizer. Five huge scallops wrapped in tender prosciutto and broiled lightly. Awesome!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have been here several times and we have always enjoyed the fresh seafood here. I grew up just south of here, so I think I know my seafood. All of the fried seafood is good, especially the whole flounder but I tend to eat the seafood here broiled or blacked. The scallops either way are great. I prefer the blackened though. Raw oysters have been hit or miss. Ask if they are in season and where they are sourced from. The closer, the better!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipper's Fish Camp also viewed

 

Been to Skipper's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skipper's Fish Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.