We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darien Waterfront Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darien
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darien Waterfront Inn
Save
You added Darien Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
201 Broad St, Darien, GA 31305   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johns Creek, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just had a really nice weekend at the Darien Waterfront Inn. We used it as our "base of operations" for a kayaking trip. We appreciated the clean, comfortable room. The hospitality was great. JoAnn made us feel most welcome and she is a gracious host. We would definitely recommend the inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
59
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I brought my parents to Darien so we could attend my nephews graduation from the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center in Brunswick. It was perfect. The Inn Keeper JoAnn could not have been nicer and more accommodating. The rooms were perfect. The beds were comfortable. There are a few good dining spots within walking distance and the wine bar just down the street was a nice way to end our day. The Inn is an eclectic place to stay so if you want chain type accommodations then this is not the place for you. But if you love staying in nice, unique, fun places...then this is one of the best. We all loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Darien Waterfront Inn is THE choice for anyone interested in exploring the coast or the mighty Altamaha River. The location is tailor made for expeditions literally on the water and adjacent to the boat ramp. Walk to everything including the freshest local seafood. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious and open to a spacious back deck overlooking the water. The staff is friendly and welcoming and the home made breakfast is fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk County, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We headed to southern coastal Georgia to explore and the Darien Waterfront Inn was conveniently located! Day trips included Harris Neck Wildlife Preserve; Ft. King George; St. Simon's Island and more. We explored the docks and took sunset photos along the river. We enjoyed the Brunswick stew and the crab chowder at two different local restaurants and dessert at the Purple Pickle across the street. We stayed three nights. Bed was comfy, room was clean, breakfasts were delicious and different each morning. We really appreciated the filtered water, too. Joann is fun and helpful.

Room Tip: See the website for a description of the different rooms. They all have themes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I wrote a review a few days ago, don't see it here, so I'm sending another. I will stay here again, room was clean, view of river was most relaxing. Bed was comfy, cozy like a nest. Several restaurants within walking distance. Didn't visit wine/cheese shop, but might in the future. Innkeeper is charming as well, showed genuine concern about my comfort. Great coffee; breakfast was fresh fruit, blueberry pancakes and bacon, yum!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We drove up from Tampa Bay, specifically for a 2 night relaxation getaway - about a 5 1/2 hr. drive, but well worth the trip. The room was lovely and plenty spacious, bed was extremely comfy, back porch inviting (including a fun happy hour with neighbors from adjoining rooms on New Year's Eve). Loved the location for walking across the parking lot to Skipper's for oysters and football during the day, and the wine shop/wine bar & other restaurants in the evenings. We explored the river in kayaks for a couple of hours during the morning (peaceful once we passed I-95) and witnessed nature in abundance, including a bald eagle sighting! JoAnn's breakfasts were delicious, and she was a pleasant and gracious hostess. Definitely worth the trip for a couple of days of peace & quiet, even great for an overnight stay while traveling up & down I-95. Not your usual high rise hotel - lots of ambiance and character.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West End, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After carefully studying all of the choices to stay in the town chose this as it leads you to believe that it is on the waterfront. While the backporch really looks over a large parking lot with a limited waterview on the other side of a restaurant.
The bed was confortable but the air conditioning ran the entire night (while is was 50 degrees outside) and there was no access to control this situation.
While the person that was filling in for the owner while she was away was extremely nice and personable I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarienWaterfrontInn, Owner at Darien Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I love and am very proud of my business and I am very sorry that you did not have a positive experience at my B&B. The view from the back porch is what prompted me to quit my job, sell my house and immediately move to Darien, GA from Massachusetts 2 years ago. I realize that this quaint little town and my unique inn are not for everyone, but it is discouraging to get a negative review because I wish for everyone to love it as much as I do. I apologize for the A/C issue. I was out of town and it was an oversight on my assistant's part not to explain the individual unit in your room. I have recently equipped the rooms with individual self-controlled AC/Heat units for the comfort of all our guests. Thank you for your feedback. JoAnn Viera, owner, Darien Waterfront Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Darien
Days Inn Darien
#2 of 5 in Darien
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
16.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#1 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
21.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#4 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
22.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel
2.3 mi away
Darien Inn I-95 Outlet Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darien Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darien Waterfront Inn

Address: 201 Broad St, Darien, GA 31305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not your ordinary inn. Sitting at the end of historic Broad Street, we are situated in a 75-year-old warehouse that boast a riverfront porch spanning our establishment from end-to-end. A few feet from the Darien Development Authority boat docks, you can launch your kayak or take a rest on your journey up-or-down the Intracoastal Waterway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darien Waterfront Hotel Darien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darien Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.