We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darien Waterfront Inn

Save Saved
You added Darien Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Darien Waterfront Inn
201 Broad St, Darien, GA 31305   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Hot August Special! $88
Ranked #3 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Polk County, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just what we needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We headed to southern coastal Georgia to explore and the Darien Waterfront Inn was conveniently located! Day trips included Harris Neck Wildlife Preserve; Ft. King George; St. Simon's Island and more. We explored the docks and took sunset photos along the river. We enjoyed the Brunswick stew and the crab chowder at two different local restaurants and dessert at the Purple Pickle across the street. We stayed three nights. Bed was comfy, room was clean, breakfasts were delicious and different each morning. We really appreciated the filtered water, too. Joann is fun and helpful.

Room Tip: See the website for a description of the different rooms. They all have themes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I wrote a review a few days ago, don't see it here, so I'm sending another. I will stay here again, room was clean, view of river was most relaxing. Bed was comfy, cozy like a nest. Several restaurants within walking distance. Didn't visit wine/cheese shop, but might in the future. Innkeeper is charming as well, showed genuine concern about my comfort. Great coffee; breakfast was fresh fruit, blueberry pancakes and bacon, yum!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We drove up from Tampa Bay, specifically for a 2 night relaxation getaway - about a 5 1/2 hr. drive, but well worth the trip. The room was lovely and plenty spacious, bed was extremely comfy, back porch inviting (including a fun happy hour with neighbors from adjoining rooms on New Year's Eve). Loved the location for walking across the parking lot to Skipper's for oysters and football during the day, and the wine shop/wine bar & other restaurants in the evenings. We explored the river in kayaks for a couple of hours during the morning (peaceful once we passed I-95) and witnessed nature in abundance, including a bald eagle sighting! JoAnn's breakfasts were delicious, and she was a pleasant and gracious hostess. Definitely worth the trip for a couple of days of peace & quiet, even great for an overnight stay while traveling up & down I-95. Not your usual high rise hotel - lots of ambiance and character.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West End, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After carefully studying all of the choices to stay in the town chose this as it leads you to believe that it is on the waterfront. While the backporch really looks over a large parking lot with a limited waterview on the other side of a restaurant.
The bed was confortable but the air conditioning ran the entire night (while is was 50 degrees outside) and there was no access to control this situation.
While the person that was filling in for the owner while she was away was extremely nice and personable I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarienWaterfrontInn, Owner at Darien Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I love and am very proud of my business and I am very sorry that you did not have a positive experience at my B&B. The view from the back porch is what prompted me to quit my job, sell my house and immediately move to Darien, GA from Massachusetts 2 years ago. I realize that this quaint little town and my unique inn are not for everyone, but it is discouraging to get a negative review because I wish for everyone to love it as much as I do. I apologize for the A/C issue. I was out of town and it was an oversight on my assistant's part not to explain the individual unit in your room. I have recently equipped the rooms with individual self-controlled AC/Heat units for the comfort of all our guests. Thank you for your feedback. JoAnn Viera, owner, Darien Waterfront Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk, va
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoyed two nights at the Waterfront Inn. The deck was lovely with comfortable chairs, nice view, and room for morning Yoga routine. Such a convenient location on the river with a wine shop two doors down for your cheese and wine, restaurants w/in easy walk, and very interesting bike trail around the little town of Darien. The breakfasts were very good and JoAnn was helpful with suggestions and information about the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a lovely spot for a little down time. I had an amazing deal with living social for two nights including breakfast, either bike or kayaks for the day, $20 credit at skippers Fish Camp restaurant on the river out front (the prosciutto wrapped scallops were delicious) $5 off lunch at the Purple Pickle, 10% off three local spots (wine bar, spa and olive oil shop) along with $40 off a future stay. I probably wouldn't have found this place without the deal, but I am so glad I did! The owner JoAnn couldn't have been more gracious or welcoming. I'm still trying to get her sweet potato pancake recipe out of her! My room was lovely with an ocean and sea glass theme. There was a beautiful front porch with adirondack chairs to relax after some fun on the water or in the historic town. A perfect weekend break and one I will definitely repeat soon at this gem of an inn with its charming owner. Thanks Jo Ann for making this a lovely reality break!

Room Tip: Call or email JoAnn for advice or information. She will be honest and helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarienWaterfrontInn, Owner at Darien Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you! Thanks to you and all the wonderful guests that make being an innkeeper such an amazing experience! It is my pleasure to share this unique inn, relaxing river-view porch and quaint seaside village experience with you. It warms my heart when my guests see and feel what drew me to this place when relaxing on the back porch. I love sharing it with you all. Thank you! JoAnn Viera, owner, Darien Waterfront Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Darien Waterfront Inn was an exceptional place to stay. The owner (JoAnn) went out of her way to ensure we were treated well. We traveled by boat from Savannah, GA and dock just in front of the restaurant which made the trip even more fun. Especially fun was meeting new people that stayed at the inn.

We are looking forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: I think they were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darien Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darien Waterfront Inn

Address: 201 Broad St, Darien, GA 31305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not your ordinary inn. Sitting at the end of historic Broad Street, we are situated in a 75-year-old warehouse that boast a riverfront porch spanning our establishment from end-to-end. A few feet from the Darien Development Authority boat docks, you can launch your kayak or take a rest on your journey up-or-down the Intracoastal Waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Darien Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darien Waterfront Hotel Darien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darien Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.