We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgia Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darien Waterfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Darien Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
Darien Waterfront Inn
201 Broad St, Darien, GA 31305   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 Holiday Special!
Ranked #3 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Enterprise, FL
1 review
“Georgia Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We just spent 2 wonderful days at the Darien Waterfront Inn - just for a quick get-away. We drove up from FL. The Inn is wonderful - breakfast was delicious - Joann (the owner) couldn't have been more welcoming and gracious. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Every room has a different theme - they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
50
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
deltona, fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I just spent two wonderful nights at this Inn. Everything about it was as depicted in the advertisement. The room was lovely, and very clean and fresh. Breakfast was great, and the innkeeper was gracious and informative. We were pleasantly surprised with the variety of great dining in Darien, all within walking distance of the Inn. I highly recommend this Inn for a wonderful few day getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We visited the Darien Water Front Inn for our 1 yr anniversary as a dating couple. The Inn was as pictured, and the rooms were as described. The Inn Keeper was very sweet, and made us feel right at home. Only draw back for this property - the walls are thin, so we did hear our neighbor snoring, and we needed to be aware of our own noise levels as well. We visited several local places for dining and loved the atmosphere of the Inn. Bathroom was spacious, but for some reason had a tiny tub, and could have used a bit of updating. We stayed two nights in the Tara, and enjoyed our stay. We would return, and would like to try another room since each one has a 'theme'.

Room Tip: Email the inn keeper if you have room questions. Rooms are as pictured, but not all things listed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We decided to cut our trip in half and stay at the Darien Inn again. They did not disappoint at all! The room was very clean and the AC was ice cold which was a good thing since it was late August early September and still hot ! On our last stay we had some rambunctious kids next door that made our stay lively and due to that Joann had offered us another stay. Given that this was last year that this happened we were not too sure if she would honor that but to our surprise and delight she remembered us and gave us a free night ! We are very impressed with Joann's Inn and her professionalism. We plan to make this our go to place when we make our drive from Florida to NC. We also loved the french toast breakfast ! We really enjoy sitting out on the back porch and listening to the peace and quite in the evening with a glass of wine and in the morning with our coffee. Definitely takes the stress off of a 10 hours drive.

Room Tip: Skippers fish camp is just behind the Inn so dinner is in walking distance. Also room #1 is really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Darien Waterfront is no doubt quirky. A renovated warehouse that fronts a parking lot of a local fish camp but affods views of the river in the deep south with a yankee inn keeper can only be described as quirky. The accomodations are nice, but not quite polished; for example the bathroom sported trim that was primed but not painted and not all the walls were flush. Jo Ann did a good job of being available but not too much in your space. The access to fun shopping and fresh seafood dining that this Inn offers are the greatest selling points.

Our bed was not the most comfortable with a partially flattened foam pad doing more damage than benefit. Breakfast was nice but simple. We had a livingsocial that included use of the house kayaks and that was a nice addition.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Darien Waterfront Inn is set on a hill overlooking the Darien river and the shrimp boats tied up there. Peaceful and delightful accomodations in very relaxing atmosphere. Great restaurant just a short walk.

Room Tip: Any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarienWaterfrontInn, Owner at Darien Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. Love the title "Wonderful View"! That's exactly what drew me to Darien, GA. I love sharing it with my wonderful guests. JoAnn Viera, owner, Darien Waterfront Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a neat inn located in the historic town of Darien. The inn is located adjacent to a river providing nice views from the expansive porch. A freshly cooked hot meal got the days started off on a very positive note. The inn keepers, Jo Ann and Kelly, were nice and friendly but not overbearing. The location of the inn is very convenient to shops and restaurants. By using their bikes you won't need the car during your stay. Bring your bug spray as the mosquitoes are on the prowl throughout the town.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two end units being they have extra windows. The other rooms seem like they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darien Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darien Waterfront Inn

Address: 201 Broad St, Darien, GA 31305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not your ordinary inn. Sitting at the end of historic Broad Street, we are situated in a 75-year-old warehouse that boast a riverfront porch spanning our establishment from end-to-end. A few feet from the Darien Development Authority boat docks, you can launch your kayak or take a rest on your journey up-or-down the Intracoastal Waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Darien Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darien Waterfront Hotel Darien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darien Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.