We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Darien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Darien to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Darien
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12924 GA Hwy 251, Darien, GA 31305   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Darien
Shelburne, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

The reviews for this place sounded like it was more than what it actually is...an older motel in need remodeling and cleaning! The sink was in the main area outside the bathroom, and the room itself was crowded and dark. Heavy, bulky furniture took up most of the room. We were disappointed in the breakfast, as it is only from 6A to 9A and is promptly and I mean promptly, packed up! We were traveling with a 2 year old and a 5 year old and to get them up, ourselves dressed and out the door to eat was hectic! Wish they allowed more time for breakfast but it seems to be the trend these days to allow only 3 hours. I didn't find any of the staff to be extraordinarily friendly either. In fact,
I observed the breakfast lady's interaction with a "late to breakfast" family...not very accommodating and in fact while she had food on the trolley, she told them where they might find a restaurant in the area serving breakfast! All in all, I don't feel I would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
32
23
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

This hotel would be topnotch if they would put on a better breakfast and find a better room for it. This is your last impression of the place and it's an awful one. The breakfast our morning was in a word, sour. It's not that much, really, to have fresh juice and milk and waffle mix, but everything tasted rotten. Even the spouse of indiscriminate palate thought so. The room is cramped and there were the usual people camped out reading who should have moved on, but Comfort Inn ought to move this into roomier space anyway. Other than that the rooms are great, nice beds, good pillows. I found it to be pretty quiet. I could hear people in the halls but not next door. Stay, but don't eat.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

I recently stayed at this Comfort Inn with my daughter and three children on our way to FL. It was perfectly pleasant and clean. Chuck was great checking us in and gave us a room with three queen sized beds which worked out well. Nothing special but a suitable place to stop without any worries. We will probably stay there again next year on our way down.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsend, Ga
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I stayed at the Darien Ga. Comfort inn and was completly satisfied you the results of the hotel. The staff was very helpful and pleasent. After being in the car for 13 hours it was a pleasure to stop at this hotel the desk clerk that checked me in was very pleasent. Chuck made me feel like I was at home and made me forget the traffic problems of the day. The room was very nice and clean at it also was a pleasure to find a pool that was open and not under repairs. The breakfast was nice, to much to eat all the food and the price for the hotel was reasonable. I looked at the other hotels in the area but the'res didn't look inviting like comfort inn but then if you want cheap you get cheap.

Jeff

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

Due to family emergency in Florida, I used Darien, GA as a halfway stopping point several times in 2007-2008. Stayed at next-door Quality Inn twice, but both bathrooms were moldy, and I switched to several stays at Comfort Inn. Glad I did! Clean room, very friendly staff, nice and quiet lodging. Well lighted parking lot. Not fancy, but safe for a woman solo traveler. Just a few minutes from historic Darien and a variety of waterfront restaurants. Small mall adjoins motel, as well as chain eateries. As a woman sometimes traveling alone, I don't require "fancy," just clean, quiet and safe. This motel fits my criteria and I'll continue to stay there.

  • Liked — Safe, friendly, near interstate and local historical attractions
  • Disliked — Don't care for motel breakfasts
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashville, OH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

This was an unexpected stop for us. We had planned to be around Daytona, FL that evening. However, traffic was horrible. After creeping along for quite some time, we decided to stop in at the Comfort Inn in Darien.

The front desk clerk as very nice, helpful and he worked quickly to check us in. I also observed him taking care of a long line of people very fast and very efficiently. He dealt with very rude people with a smile. One particular man pretty much blamed the clerk personally for the rate that was quoted when all the clerk does is work there and doesn't make the rules or decide on the rates to be offered. But the clerk was professional with this man and kept right on taking care of the customers, after the man left, with a good attitude.

This hotel does have interior corridors which makes you feel safer. However, as the other reveiwer said, the hallway carpet is in need of replacement.. There is no elevator. The room was small but clean and on the ground floor. The pool was outside and seasonal which was a disappointment being late December and cold.

We had to leave early since we didn't get as far the day before as we needed to be. So, we didn't get to see or enjoy all of the free breakfast. However, there is coffee, juice and some things available 24 hrs. We did enjoy that when we arrived and when we left at 5am.

  • Liked — Friendly service and food and drinks available free 24 hrs.
  • Disliked — No indoor pool and dated decor.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamsville, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

Absolutely horrible. When we checked in we were given a really rediculous cost for our room. It was a weekday-Monday going for close to $80 a night. Room was ok, but they could have given us better for what we paid and priority members. No hair conditioner. The main hall all gross the carpets all stained, laundry room filthy equipment dented rusted or didn't work. Dryer was working too well shrunk my best shirt. No selection on the breakfast bar. The waffle dough batter was sour. Would have been better to stay at the Quality hotel next door probably for let and more cleaner environment.

  • Liked — had a somewhat functioning laundry room and breakfast bar
  • Disliked — the filth and smoke smells
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Darien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Darien

Address: 12924 GA Hwy 251, Darien, GA 31305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Darien 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Darien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darien Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Darien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.