We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Darien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Darien to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Darien
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12924 GA Hwy 251, Darien, GA 31305   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Darien
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

After comparing the hotels at this exit, we chose this one as it is the top rated. Upon arriving in our room we were very disappointed. The carpet needs cleaning and updating. Our white socks were black and in some areas the carpet was worn so thin, we could see sub-floor. The beds were average but the old style comforter just doesn't feel clean. In the morning the breakfast was below mediocre and we decided to go out to breakfast. The eating area is very small with only 4 tables to accommodate all the guests. We'd plan to start late this day and swim a bit, but the pool water was dingy and 'thick' looking- we decided against it.
Finally when showering to get on with our day, the exhaust in the bathroom did not working steaming and then leaving moisture on everything in the bathroom.

We might stay here again, but we'd more than likely push through to Pooler/Savannah.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
34
25
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stopped at this Comfort Inn on both outbound and return legs to Charlotte, NC. Very convenient location and Great seafood restaurants in town. The motel is fine, but the service personnel were EXCELLENT! I had a reservation on Hotels.com that didn't show up on their computer; the PM Front Desk (Marie Collins) spent time and effort to clear the problem, make my reservation and confirm that Hotels.com would not charge twice for the room. Marie really went out of her way to help me-A+! On the return, Stephanie Pachmayer, PM Front Desk, was courteous and helpful also, made good food recommendations, and also gave me Marie's name so that I could commend her. Kudos to both and to the owners who hired these ladies to work in Darien. I will return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Generally nice, pleasant enough check-in, altho the girl at the Front Desk was apparently new and gave me totally incorrect information regarding payments. The kicker was when I went to take a shower and pulled closed the shower curtain, there were TWO DIRTY washcloths on the shower rod that apparently were not taken by housekeeping. Not cool. Other than that, nice breakfast and pleasant stay...but wouldn't stay again because of this. I expected a better compensation than just a "sorry, here are two fresh washcloths."

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Island, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My sister and I decided to have a long overdue visit so I drove from NC, her husband drove her from Florida and we met at the Inn in Darien. My sister has some physical disabilities, we had three small dogs and we just wanted some quiet time around the pool and to eat at local restaurants. We knew the elevator would be a plus and expected the room to be clean and the bed comfortable. What we didn't expect was the warmth and genuine care from Chuck and Stephanie. They respect their staff and it shows on all their friendly faces. I had technical issues with my computer and Chuck gave me lots of help, over and over again and always with a smile. I left a component behind when we checked out and Stephanie found it and is mailing it back to me. Her attitude was," No problem, happy to do it." The pool is clean and warm, the grounds are well kept and when they say "dog friendly" they mean it. Chuck and Stephanie are happy to help with anything you need from directions to restaurants to extra towels. Yes, it's not the Taj Mahal but if you want a comfortable stay where you feel REALLY welcome, stay here. Thanks you guys!

Room Tip: If you have pets stay closer to one end or the other for easier access to outside. Bring your own b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I see that others experienced a wet-dog smell. We found the hotel to be clean and the staff to be friendly. There were, indeed, many dogs in many rooms on both floors. When we were greeted a bit too enthusiastically by a barker while walking in the hall, the management agreed to move us to a room further removed from the end where at least three dogs were in the rooms. They assured us that the rooms were sound-proof and we wouldn't have heard the dog inside; but, they didn't balk in honoring our request for a room-change.

The room for breakfast is a bit squeezed and a few condiments (salt and pepper) were hard to come by. But, all in all, the convenience of location to I-95, availability of other places to eat nearby, and cost make up for any deficits or inconveniences.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Perfectly okay stop on I95 except that the whole building smelled awful--kind of a musty, damp, wet-dog smell. I suppose being a pet-friendly hotel had a lot to do with it. I could have gone elsewhere but I was exhausted at that point and decided to put up with the smell. No more pet-friendly hotels for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We haven't stayed in this hotel, but we can speak to the extraordinary service provided by Chuck and Stephanie. Somehow a reservation was mistakenly make for us, which included the numbers for our credit card, Choice membership, and AAA membership, as well as e-mail address. Upon receiving a confirmation e-mail, we immediately called and spoke with Chuck who went right to work. Follow-up conversations with Chuck and then Stephanie solved the issue and helped avoid having to stop using our credit card. You can be assured that if we are ever in the area that we will be staying at this motel. However, we are still waiting for the call center to explain how this could happen.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Darien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Darien

Address: 12924 GA Hwy 251, Darien, GA 31305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Darien 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn Darien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darien Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Darien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.