We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B for a quite visit in a quite town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Open Gates B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Open Gates B&B to your Saves list
Open Gates B&B
301 Franklin Street, Historic Vernon Square, Darien, GA 31305   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Darien B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Awesome B&B for a quite visit in a quite town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I went to Darien for a quite weekend away and chose Open Gates B&B for our place to stay. We've stayed in a lot of B&Bs and this one rates as one of the top on the list. Jeff and Kelly have created a wonderful haven in the historic area of Darien. We had the downstairs room right next to the dining room and library. The room was beautifully decorated and very large with a big high bed, a single bed and a sofa for relaxing. The library had books and games and best of all a carafe of wine available at all times for guests. There was pound cake in the dining room at all times and although I usually don't indulge once I tasted that one it was all I could do not to eat a large portion. The parlor was a great place to relax with the comfy antique sofas and chairs and there were rocking chairs and a swing on the front porch.
Breakfast was fantastic although it would have been nice to have a choice instead of a set menu. That being said my favorite breakfast was the local fresh eggs that had the best flavor of any I've had in years. My husband's favorite was the home made waffles we had on the second morning.
Jeff and Kelly were perfect hosts. They were very friendly, made sure we had everything we wanted and were available by phone any time we needed them which was not at all! There was not one thing we wanted for.
If you want a nice quite time away I'd definitely suggest staying at Open Gates

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    13
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
52
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

There is much to like about this bed and breakfast. It is located in the heart of town next to a small park (Vernon Square) and has a gorgeous library and a large salt water pool. Jeff, the host is personable and attentive and serves a delicious breakfast.
The Island Room and its private bath are roomy and the bed is quite comfortable, however it opens into the dining room and is adjacent to the library.
Darien is a quiet town with good restaurants-a perfect stopover while traveling I-95.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We had a great stay at the Open Gates. It was a haven of relaxation - and if Darien is a little off the beaten track, the calm and hospitality on offer gave us as a family the energy to do excursions to Cumberland Island, Okefenokee, Jekyll Island etc. Savannah would have been the same distance too. Plus Fort St George just up the road is well worth a trip.

The layout and charm of the house is perfect for a relaxing stay, with plenty of room and different corners in which to sit down with a guidebook or a novel, as well as a lovely garden. This is in keeping with the Innkeepers' style - Jeff and Kelly are always there if needed, but not "on top of you". Many very helpful recommendations about how to use the time to best effect, and a great breakfast kindly adjusted when required for our daughters' tastes....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

I recently stayed at Open Gates for two nights with my school age children upon the recommendation of a relative and friend. This was my children's first stay at a B&B. We all enjoyed the time there as the room was spacious, well decorated and well furnished. We stayed upstairs and enjoyed the comfy bed.

Our hosts were friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming to our children. Breakfast was very good and the host was kind enough to fix waffles for my somewhat picky eaters. The shrimp and grits were absolutely delicious.

We spent time at Fort King George, Southeast Adventures Kayaking tour and did some shopping at the outlet mall that includes the usual suspects as well as a unique antique shop. We ate at a fun restaurant called Purple Pickle.

I really appreciate the fact that the hosts welcomed my children as I did not want to stay in a chain hotel while visiting the area.

Room Tip: Our room used the hall bathroom which worked fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

My husband had business nearby so we stayed for 2 nights at Open Gates. I only wish we had more time to do all the interesting things nearby. We'll definitely return for pleasure.

We stayed in the room on the ground floor of the main house. The bed was so unbelievably comfortable and lush. The sheets were soft as can be. The pillows were fluffy and luxurious. A heavenly sleep.

The house itself is beautiful. It is very spacious and tastefully decorated. An amazing library stocked with all kinds of interesting books - books about local history, books about birds, novels, guidebooks, etc. I was there while my husband worked and, unfortunately it rained the whole day and it was pretty cold outside. But I spent a wonderful, relaxing day reading their books in the library.

In addition to the library, which has a tv, there is a lovely living room which is nice to sit in and have a chat with friends or just sit and listen to music. And then there is the elegant dining room, where delicious breakfasts are served. And also tea and yummy cake available pretty much all day. Oh, and don't forget the wine in the decanter in the library - a really nice touch.

The house is centrally located in that you are a 5 minute walk away from several restaurants and a wine bar. And you are also a 5 minute walk away from the waterfront with a nice view of the marsh and the shrimp boats.

I learned that there are several interesting things to do in the area. If we had the time we could have taken a trip to Sapelo Island or gone kayaking in the Altamaha river. As it was, we did make it to Fort King George, which is interesting historically and right in Darien.

All in all we had an excellent stay at Open Gates and we highly recommend the house for anybody considering a trip to the Georgia coast. And if you are a birder, you'll fit right in!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We recently stayed at this bed and breakfast for a short break along the Georgia Coast. The hosts were so pleasant and saw to our every need. The house is gorgeous, built in 1876, and was decorated for the holiday season which only added to its charm. Our bedroom was spacious, clean and the bed was SO comfortable. Breakfast was a full meal that lasted us way into the afternoon. We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

Open Gates is on a beautiful square, walking distance from the waterfront and good restaurants. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept in, with soft sheets. We enjoyed a glass of wine in the library while perusing books about the history of the GA coast. Breakfast was delicious. The innkeepers are delightful and made us feel at home. The saltwater pool was a treat for us. We look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Open Gates B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gates B&B

Address: 301 Franklin Street, Historic Vernon Square, Darien, GA 31305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Darien
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Darien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Gates Bed and Breakfast, built in 1876 by a wealthy timber baron, is uniquely situated for nature-lovers, history buffs, birders, boaters, and outdoor enthusiasts wanting to experience one of the richest natural ecosystems in the world. We are a family run, nature-based business located in the small coastal village of Darien, Georgia. Located on historic Vernon Square, just one block from the shrimp boats on the Darien waterfront, Open Gates is surrounded by giant live oak and magnolia trees providing a private, relaxed atmosphere for your vacation getaway retreat, business trip or special event ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Open Gates B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open Gates B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.