We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Everytime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakwood Cafe

Oakwood Cafe
201 W. Cuyler Street, Dalton, GA 30720
706-529-9663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 159 Restaurants in Dalton
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Description: Treat your family to the best in Southern cuisine at Oakwood Cafe, in Forest Park, Georgia. From baby back ribs and onion rings to barbecue pork and pot roast, our menu features a wide selection of home cooked favorites. All of our dishes are homemade daily, using the freshest ingredients available. Our full menu is available all day long, and our well-trained staff will attend to your every need. Our family restaurant has banquet capabilities, and seats up to 350 patrons. In addition, we offer catering services for any event and any occasion.
Rocky Face, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Reliable Everytime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

You can always count on the Oakwood for reliable, friendly service and food like your mama cooked, if she was a southerner that is. Turnip greens, real mashed potatoes, fried okra and candied yams and cornbread. It's always packed, but the service is fast

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    20
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“meat and 3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Today was my first time to eat here, but not my last! The best greens, black eye peas, fried okra, and peach cobbler. GREAT SERVICE too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“skip the chains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Skip the chain restaurants and find this unpretentious little cafe in downtown Dalton. Not fancy by any means, but the food is good Southern fare at it's best. Friendly service, ridiculously cheap, and when we visited on a Saturday night there was no wait. Our only regret was we couldn't go back for breakfast because they are closed Sundays.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranger
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Oakwood Cafe is a Dalton institution. Their simple, well prepared, food is delicious. The service is good, and a visit to the Oakwood is something to look forward to. Their chicken tenders can't be beat!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“"A Local who eats here often"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good old meat and two or three sides. Great Sweet Tea and Homemade Deserts. The Fried Chicken Livers make sure your Hungry, They are to Die For. Fast Service even when they are busy. The Oakwood Cafe does not dissapoint !!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oakwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.