We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   835 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Dahlonega
atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's fine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

This is a 2-star hotel, so it's not in any way fancy. There are no balconies, small TV's, bad soap & shampoo products, plain white towels, etc. However, it was spotless, our room was as indicated with clean sheets and linens, and it's about a 2 minute drive or less to the historic square in Dahlonega. The bed was comfortable. There are not that many options in Dahlonega. We knew when we made reservations that this wouldn't be the Ritz. We had coffee in the morning but they did have some continental breakfast selections. All in all, it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    27
    19
    15
See reviews for
43
26
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

This place was not as advertised. The Beds were not comfortable. We were next to an elevator. The breakfast was very limited and there was not alot of places to sit. The hotel was clean. The lady that checked us in was not very nice. I believe her name was Diane. It is very close to downtown Dahlonega, so that was nice.

  • Liked — It was Clean
  • Disliked — The overall Comfort
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, GA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

This hotel is DIRTY! On my first visit, my sheets were not clean. They smelled like someone else's body odor. Upon checkout, I was assured that they were clean and I was mistaken. On my second visit, about a year later, my toilet was clogged...unfortunately, someone had also used it. It was disgusting! The front desk clerk actually argued with me about whether or not my toilet was working! After I threatened to leave, she FINALLY checked it out and gave me a new room promptly. As an experienced traveller, I found their customer service to be terrible. Instead of being accomodating, I found management to be very defensive. Great location but not worth the risk. p.s. I do not have a problem with Holiday Inn Express Hotels. Since they are independently owned, I will continue to use them....just beware of this one!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

2 min drive to Dahlonega downtown where you can find country stores and several local restaurants. We stayed there for one night for the 6 Gap Ride. The hotel personnel allowed us an extended check out time so we could come back and shower off before we left town. Clean room, got the essentials, a fridge and a microwave and free wireless internet service. Complimentary breakfast has the basics, coffee, juices, milk, cereal, toasts, pastry, fruits, bagel, etc. Overall we were happy with our stay. It was a bit pricier than the Days Inn next door which provides most of the same things. But you are paying for probably nicer decorations, the reputation and the better service. We would recommend it for families and couples.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Tips/Secrets — Request a mountain view room
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

Our older children stayed on night while my wife gave birth to our 3rd child in the local hospital. We had plans to stay 2 nights but only needed the room for one. The Hotel charged our credit card for the 2nd night and we have not been able to get a refund YET. Be aware of your charges if you use your credit card.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2006

I stayed here the first week in August for 3 nights. I have stayed at many hotels, and many of those were Holiday Inn Express. This one was not bad, but they seem to go with the bare minimal in effort here. The rooms are okay, but missing little things like a coffee maker and nice bedding. The blanket on my bed was ripped. The breakfast is the worst atI have seen at a Holiday Inn Express. Yes the have she Cinnimon Rolls, but not much else. A few cerals and maybe toast. They do not even have a Breakfast attendant they make the 1 person running the front desk attend to the food also. With this said, I did not see many other options in the area, will I stay here again? Probably so, but once there is a better option I am done with them.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

A great weekend for our wedding party. Mrs. Moore was wonderful in helping guests and I would not stay anywhere else in the Dahlonega area.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Address: 835 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dahlonega, home to the first major gold rush in the US. The Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega hotel is a luxurious three-story hotel only one mile from downtown Dahlonega and located in the heart of the Southern Appalachian Mountains with excellent mountain views and rapid access to mountain attractions. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Please note that no roll-away beds are allowed in any of our rooms. Visit Dahlonega, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega Hotel Dahlonega
Holiday Inn Dahlonega

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.