We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understaffed Holiday inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   835 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Dahlonega
Warwick, Rhode Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Understaffed Holiday inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Basic chain hotel which I would have rated higher if not for a few issues. I believe that the hotel is not staffed properly which may explain some of the problems: There were many bags of trash piled up in the stairwell nearest our room throughout the four days we were there. The trash filled the staircase with a bad smell. The entrance door at the back of the hotel, the one nearest our room remained unlocked all weekend. Our room was not serviced at all the first day. we were out of the room from 7 AM until 6 PM and the room was untouched. The next day our room was not serviced until after 5 PM. We returned from a long day and could not use our room. The women's restroom in the lobby was filthy. The hotel ran out of some food items for the breakfast each day. We were never greeted by a memeber of the hotel staff and my wife was treated rudely by one of the housekeepers when she requested towels on the day that our room was not cleaned. There was no business center. There is plenty of parking, a great location, free wifi and everything worked in our room.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms facing the front of the house have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    22
    16
    14
See reviews for
36
21
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is good! We live this town! Good value for the money. Enjoy the town where everyone is friendly and always helpful. In the summer relax and enjoy tubing on the Chestatee river. It's a trip you will return for over and over. The leaves in the fall are gorgeous'

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed at this motel in the past. It is well run, good location and for the age of the motel it is in pretty good shape, with clean rooms. Was told that it will be going thru renovations in 2013. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I heard that I'm not a regular 3-4 times while I was simply trying to check in at 1:00 pm. The manager told me they had overbooked and she was taking care of the regulars first and then would handle everyone else if she could. I was more than willing to change room types from doubles to king to even help out and simply requested a room on the lower floor because my sister who was staying with me recently had knee surgery, forgoing the early check in and was still told "those rooms are reserved for my regulars". Well I hope her regulars keep them busy all year. I have never been so discriminated against and I'm a Holiday Inn Regular!! Priority Club member means nothing here! The hotel is outdated, ice machines didn't work, I noticed since a prior October 9th review and there were NO REFRIGERATORS OR MICROWAVES, unacceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here in two bed rooms only for one night on a rewards night (not sure that it should make a difference), but we had a platinum membership. The rooms each had a musty smell to them, not sure if it was because the AC was not on. But even after the AC being on for a while, the room still smelled. We stayed in a king room and it clearly was missing a couch or something because on the far end of the room, it was just a table and two chairs and a big empty space. My wife peeked in one of the other rooms, and they had a sofa sleeper in there room. Not sure if it was because the one in ours was ruined or what.

As a previous reviewer stated, there is no mini fridge or microwave. There was also only one ice machine on site. The breakfast was sub par, and right at 9:30 - it was shut off. I normally don't complain about places I stay and figured this was just a "holiday inn express," but staying in another one in a different smaller town further north (Hiawassee) - it was night and day. We only stayed here because the one in Hiawassee was booked out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear J L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay at our hotel. Rest assured that all the points you have written down will be looked into. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express. It was very nice, clean.
The staff was the best.
I want to tell you that the Hotel Manager Diane Moore was great. We wanted for nothing.
She was there when we woke up to when we went to bed.
Her breakfast was great, hot & well planed. The pan cakes maker was also great.
We will be there next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We are in Dahlonega at least once year for a reunion (for the past 6 years now). We love the Holiday Inn there. Diane, the manager, has been and continues to be very helpful, friendly and professional. She has, on more than one occasion, gone 'above and beyond' to help resolve any issue that we or others we know have had (none of which could be attributed to her or her staff).

Oh, and by the way, I've heard her speak to the staff, and I didn't notice any attitude at all. She spoke in her usual soft and calm voice and simply asked questions and gave directions; which is what is expected of a manager.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and the public area is well-kept.

Room Tip: We always as for 3rd floor, mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Address: 835 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dahlonega, home to the first major gold rush in the US. The Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega hotel is a luxurious three-story hotel only one mile from downtown Dahlonega and located in the heart of the Southern Appalachian Mountains with excellent mountain views and rapid access to mountain attractions. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Please note that no roll-away beds are allowed in any of our rooms. Visit Dahlonega, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega Hotel Dahlonega
Holiday Inn Dahlonega

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.