We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   835 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Dahlonega
Gray, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always a great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We are in Dahlonega at least once year for a reunion (for the past 6 years now). We love the Holiday Inn there. Diane, the manager, has been and continues to be very helpful, friendly and professional. She has, on more than one occasion, gone 'above and beyond' to help resolve any issue that we or others we know have had (none of which could be attributed to her or her staff).

Oh, and by the way, I've heard her speak to the staff, and I didn't notice any attitude at all. She spoke in her usual soft and calm voice and simply asked questions and gave directions; which is what is expected of a manager.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and the public area is well-kept.

Room Tip: We always as for 3rd floor, mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    18
    16
    14
See reviews for
36
19
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a wonderful initial stay in Dahlonega in the fall of 2011 and couldn't wait to return this fall. We were greeted again this time with a smile and even an early check-in. Dianne, the manager, went above and beyond to get us in a room as I had waited too long to call to request a room. Good food, a clean room and a happy staff will bring us back again. Must be a great place - it was booked waaaay in advance. Thanks again, Dianne!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room on the side overlooking the college spire! The view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I go to Dahlonega every week as a consultant to the University, and always stay at the Holiday Inn Express. I have stayed at other properties in Dahlonega, and there is no comparison. The front desk staff is competent, professional and caring. The rooms are very quiet; the beds are comfortable; and the free wi-fi is great!

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have no idea how this place stays in business. The short, plump elderly lady is so nasty to everyone that I am surprised guests still come in this joint! Her service makes it obvious from the get go that they are over charging because she is rude to the guests and act like we inconvenience her every time we ask a question, she doesn't speak or smile unless she knows you, and she talks to her employees like they're vermin beneath her. Speaking of vermin, I heard her mention to one of her employees about a rodent problem they were having, which is disgusting and I am wondering if the health department knows about it. I may in fact give them a call myself. At the rate they charge for rooms, they should be able to afford a mini fridge and microwave for each room, which they do not have. The breakfast was horrible and tasted stale as if it were not fresh at all. Stay away from this hotel unless you want to get ripped off by a miserable, depressed old hag who has no respect for the people who pay her salary or the people who work under her.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

As a HI Platinum member I stay at HI Express every week. Therefore I was really at a loss as to why the Troll who runs this location was such a train wreck. Like the man in front of me checking in said, "it is like watching paint dry". She trashes out her employees and tells everyone her hotel problems. The ONLY HI Express with no bacon or sausage, the Troll says gravy over biscuts is a meat product. They ran out of breakfast early and had no fruit or newspapers on Saturda morning. Fire alarms with bad batteries, phones not working, toilets stopping up, desks and lamps simply missing in rooms. She has no concept that we are paying customers and she is overhead. When the fish stinks it starts at the head. The Troll must go!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear MaineGuy_12,

Thank you very much for being a Platinum member and your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartwell, GA.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We arrived without reservations and were told that the only rooms available were a double bed room and a king suite. We were also told that the suite had a special manager's rate of $139.95 for this weekend so we took it. Now, when someone says "suite" I expect the room to be large with an extra sitting room and a couple of
TVs etc. Well, not here! Good sized room with a tiny sitting area with a TV and a love seat. That was the only TV in the "suite" so couldn't lay on the bed and watch and the bed was very firm and uncomfortable. The woman behind the desk never smiled and doesn't belong in that position. The breakfast area is too small for the guests, only six tables, and everyone was sort of tripping over each other trying to get coffee and what little was offered for food. We felt lucky to find a room at the last minute but this was a real disappointment. Never again!!

Room Tip: See the room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Janelizabeth1,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a clean and comfortable accommodation at a good value. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret you were not satisfied with the condition of the suite you received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and these will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best hotel experience possible.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel on three separate occasions, so we have a lot of experience from which to write a review. We keep coming back to the Holiday Inn Express for several reasons.This hotel has one of the most beautiful views of the mountains in Dahlonega and the customer service has been outstanding during each stay. Diane, the manager, is friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable and has gone out of her way to make each one of our stays, a wonderful one. The rooms are comfortable and clean and we enjoy the breakfasts.... gotta love those cinnamon rolls! We rarely have a problem, and when we do it is minor, and Diane is quick to resolve it. Thanks to her and her awesome staff, we will return to the Holiday Inn Express again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega

Address: 835 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dahlonega, home to the first major gold rush in the US. The Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega hotel is a luxurious three-story hotel only one mile from downtown Dahlonega and located in the heart of the Southern Appalachian Mountains with excellent mountain views and rapid access to mountain attractions. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Please note that no roll-away beds are allowed in any of our rooms. Visit Dahlonega, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega Hotel Dahlonega
Holiday Inn Dahlonega

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Dahlonega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.