We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best clam chowder I've ever eaten!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back Porch Oyster Bar

Back Porch Oyster Bar
Public Square, 19 N. Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
+1 706-864-8623
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Back Porch Oyster Bar Restaurant is inspired by coastal North Carolina cuisine, our seafood is fine dining in a fun atmosphere. Our menu runs the gamut from simple fried catfish to Ahi tuna tartare, pan seared Chilean Sea Bass in a lemon beurre blanc, and cold water lobster tails. We also have a wide selection of cold water oysters from Northeastern U.S. and Canada. Yes you can find great seafood in the North Georgia Mountains!!
Alabama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best clam chowder I've ever eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I had the oyster Po-boy which was very tasty. The roll was grilled and a homemade remoulade sauce was offered to spread on the sandwich. I heard the couple at the adjacent table raving to the waitress about the clam chowder, so I decided to order a cup. I had to agree....it was the best clam chowder ever! I've even had clam chowder throughout New England that didn't begin to compare to this. It has bacon which tones down the fishiness of the clams, and there are small chunks of potato, onion, clams, and bacon. When I go back I'll order the larger bowl. They also have outdoor seating available overlooking the lovely downtown area of Dahlonega.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    78
    32
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Really good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stopped in here after a wine tasting and sat down for some lunch. Nice location in Dahlonega. I had the shrimp and grits and it was delicious.
Yes it is a bit pricey but the food is good and worth the price. Everything costs more in this day an age and for a small town that gets a ton of visitors it is a good value for the quality of the food.
Our server Jay was as polite as can be and gave some good advice on the food they offer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, TN
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Small portions for a big price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were lured to this restaurant by both the reviews and the menu touting fresh seafood. The building itself is very pleasing and well decorated emulating a beach resort seafood restaurant. The menu pricing is over the top for what you get and where this is located. It's pricing cannot even begin to compare to similar restaurants in Hilton Head Island, Fort Lauderdale or Destin. My wife and I decided to each try the fried seafood platter at $28.00 per platter (about $5 over a similar platter at most coastal beach restaurants). The portions are miserly - there were 4 small oysters which were tough, 4 very small shrimp and one Atlantic cod with a handful of french fries.The best thing going for this place is the view from the 2d floor porch that overlooks the square. Dont waste your money here for over-priced seafood. We discovered that the locals shy away from this restaurant for good reason - the prices and the portions. The view and the service were both outstanding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great place for seafood. The shrimp and grits are some of the best and the crab bisque is wonderful also.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A delicious view of the square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excited after finding GOLD we had a prospectors appetite.. we were looking for another gold strike for our taste buds.. Eureka.. We found it at the BACK PORCH... Actually the upstairs front porch .. Two presidente beers from their extensive list of libations .. Followed by a fish sandwich and shrimp sandwich with all the goodies .. Really fit the bill .. Our waiter JAY .. Was all smiles and helpful.. The view of the square was like a trip back in time .. This was the place to be in dahlonega ... Everybody at the Resturant was great ... See you on the porch ... The palmers

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Porch Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Back Porch Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Porch Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.