We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back Porch Oyster Bar

Back Porch Oyster Bar
Public Square, 19 N. Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
706-864-8623
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 70 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Back Porch Oyster Bar Restaurant is inspired by coastal North Carolina cuisine, our seafood is fine dining in a fun atmosphere. Our menu runs the gamut from simple fried catfish to Ahi tuna tartare, pan seared Chilean Sea Bass in a lemon beurre blanc, and cold water lobster tails. We also have a wide selection of cold water oysters from Northeastern U.S. and Canada. Yes you can find great seafood in the North Georgia Mountains!!
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We sat outside and split late night seafood dinner and had a nice chat with our waitress who was going to school in Dahlonega. We walked from the Smith House where we stayed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    74
    30
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were in town and celebrating our anniversary on a Monday night and not many restaurants were open and we were so lucky to find such a fantastic restaurant! The food was great and the service was amazing. We had the ceviche, the clam chowder, the fish tacos and the pear and apple salad with goat cheese and loved everything!! We will definitely be back! Thank you!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Seafood in the Georgia Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After a day of hiking we were ready for a great meal. Walking around the town square we passed up the chance to eat at a few other places, in part because they chose to mix politics with dining. At least the political ads in their windows susggested this. So instead we found the Back Porch Oyster bar and had a terrific meal in a great old building with a view of the square. The crab soup was outstanding and the shrimp and grits was unique and really tasty. If you want to catch the game, the bar upstairs has a nice set up and friendly atmosphere. The service was good and the prices quite fair. All in all, a great choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasty, Yummy & Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we want well prepared seafood, we head away from Atlanta and into Dahlonega to the Back Porch. It's a very nice treat especially where it's located right off the city square. We've eaten there about 4 times within the last 2 years... (we consider it a special occasion). We've never had a bad meal. We've always tried different fish dishes with the trashy rice and it's always been tasty. Never tried their dessert. Too many places to walk around Dahlonega and enjoy a sweet treat. We've recommended it many times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Halloween on the balcony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We lucked into sitting on the balcony and watching the trick-or-treaters on the square while we ate. It was the best Halloween my friend and I have had since the kids have become fewer each year in our neighborhood. What a great idea to offer the treats all around the square. We both had good meals and an enjoyable time. With the weather being pretty cool now, it would have been great to offer some blankets for the outdoor guests' laps. There is a restaurant in Roswell that does this and it is a cool idea; one on the back of each chair practically. Just thought I'd mention that because the owner is a nice guy here and he might like that idea. He always comes around and checks on the guests. The tilapia was perfect and not too seasoned. I don't normally each hush puppies but these were small and delicious. The greeters and wait staff were all very friendly, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Porch Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Back Porch Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Porch Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.