We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood in the Georgia Mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back Porch Oyster Bar

Back Porch Oyster Bar
Public Square, 19 N. Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
706-864-8623
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 67 restaurants in Dahlonega
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Back Porch Oyster Bar Restaurant is inspired by coastal North Carolina cuisine, our seafood is fine dining in a fun atmosphere. Our menu runs the gamut from simple fried catfish to Ahi tuna tartare, pan seared Chilean Sea Bass in a lemon beurre blanc, and cold water lobster tails. We also have a wide selection of cold water oysters from Northeastern U.S. and Canada. Yes you can find great seafood in the North Georgia Mountains!!
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Seafood in the Georgia Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After a day of hiking we were ready for a great meal. Walking around the town square we passed up the chance to eat at a few other places, in part because they chose to mix politics with dining. At least the political ads in their windows susggested this. So instead we found the Back Porch Oyster bar and had a terrific meal in a great old building with a view of the square. The crab soup was outstanding and the shrimp and grits was unique and really tasty. If you want to catch the game, the bar upstairs has a nice set up and friendly atmosphere. The service was good and the prices quite fair. All in all, a great choice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    150
    63
    24
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasty, Yummy & Worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we want well prepared seafood, we head away from Atlanta and into Dahlonega to the Back Porch. It's a very nice treat especially where it's located right off the city square. We've eaten there about 4 times within the last 2 years... (we consider it a special occasion). We've never had a bad meal. We've always tried different fish dishes with the trashy rice and it's always been tasty. Never tried their dessert. Too many places to walk around Dahlonega and enjoy a sweet treat. We've recommended it many times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Halloween on the balcony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We lucked into sitting on the balcony and watching the trick-or-treaters on the square while we ate. It was the best Halloween my friend and I have had since the kids have become fewer each year in our neighborhood. What a great idea to offer the treats all around the square. We both had good meals and an enjoyable time. With the weather being pretty cool now, it would have been great to offer some blankets for the outdoor guests' laps. There is a restaurant in Roswell that does this and it is a cool idea; one on the back of each chair practically. Just thought I'd mention that because the owner is a nice guy here and he might like that idea. He always comes around and checks on the guests. The tilapia was perfect and not too seasoned. I don't normally each hush puppies but these were small and delicious. The greeters and wait staff were all very friendly, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great first visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Went for the first time since it has been the Front Porch to celebrate my son's birthday. We all five ate something different and all said their meal was well prepared. The crab dip was delicious, as was the trashy rice. My son ate a ribeye and seemed to enjoy it. The shrimp and grits was complimented by my daughter and my grandson enjoyed his fried shrimp. The staff was very attentive and made sure that we had everything we needed. We will be going back the next time we visit in Dahlonega.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Georgia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Visit to NC campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We ate there for lunch. Good food and good service. Friendly atmosphere. Many of the locals were eating there and staff made a point to talk to us, to ask how we liked Dahlonega.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Porch Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Back Porch Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Porch Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.