We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Amazing Atmosphere"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corkscrew Cafe

The Corkscrew Cafe
51W Main Street West, Dahlonega, GA 30533
+1 706-867-8551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located just off the square in Dahlonega next to the Historic Holly Theater, the Corkscrew Cafe offers American Cuisine with a modern and creative twist. Trout, Eggplant Mascarpone and Nut Crusted Pork Chop are a few of our signature items as well as Steaks, Appetizers and "To Die For" Desserts! The extensive wine list features Georgia wines, as well as other quality selections from around the world. The dining room and patio make an ideal setting for casual fine dining and good times with friends, family and business associates. Live music on Friday and Saturday nights. Now we are having Thursday night Jazz nights! Monthly Wine Diners and Tastings. Large Parties welcomed, reservations recommended. "Dining with a Twist" for 10 years in North Georgia. Join Us!
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Amazing Atmosphere"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were not sure what to expect when we chose to dine at The Corkscrew Cafe. The name is a little deceiving if you are not familiar with the area. Other places on the square did not peak our taste interest, so we decided to take a chance on this place. Wow, I was so glad we did. This is a hidden gem. The welcome was warm and inviting, the staff was friendly and top notch and the food was fantastic. The taste and presentation was something I would expect to find in a big city, not a small town. Fantastic! We will most definately visit again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    72
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I was in the area for work, and check trip advisor so decided to go with this one.
No one there, but one table with who I talk during my lunch and also the owner who has been very nice.
Will be back for more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the music and outdoor seating. Food - meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had dinner here one evening and sat outside in the rear of the restaurant. Great music provided by a gentlemen named Johnny. As for the food, my wife and I were very pleased with the warm spinach salad and the bread. The main entrees were very disappointing. My wife's pork chop was a very generous portion that was significantly undercooked. The hangar steak was tough. I had intended to go with the filet mignon but was recommended to try the hangar steak as it was the favorite of most return customers. We have had better meals at one of the big chain steak houses for less money.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fun Find , Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Sunday ride to Dahlonega, scoped out trip advisor, I did not want BBQ because We own a BBQ joint, I like and look for Top Rated non chain resturants, this place was a real treat with smiles on the staffs faces offers a great first impression , the menu is simple with fun options for every taste. We can not wait to try the Dinner Menu which we did review. Buy the way the food was really tasty and fun, My taste Buds did a happy dance. Thanks to Robert and the Crew.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Creative cuisine and sensational service in downtown Dahlonega”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were incredibly impressed with our experience at the Corkscrew Cafe this evening. Our plans had changed and we arrived an hour earlier than our reservation. The hostess welcomed us warmly and moved tables to accommodate us. We received excellent advice on wine selection, and our server explained the additional featured items expertly. The warm spinach salad with candied pecan; true Cesar salad (with anchovies); and featured salad of baby iceberg with beets, blue cheese, and homemade ranch were a wonderful start to our meal. For entrees, we enjoyed the filet; trout with shitake mushrooms; and the featured scallops with roasted cauliflower and fingerling sweet potatoes. All were cooked beautifully and revealed the chef's creativity with ingredients. Though both desserts offerings were amazing, the Stilton and blueberry cheesecake may be the best cheesecake we've ever eaten. We actually ordered an extra piece to take home. The owner visited us and shared stories about how dishes are collaboratively created. The Corkscrew Cafe is definitely a restaurant to which these foodies will return each time we're in Dahlonega.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corkscrew Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Corkscrew Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corkscrew Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.