We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely camping trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Etowah River Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Etowah River Campground
Save
You added Etowah River Campground to your Saves list
437 Rider Mill Road, Dahlonega, GA 30533   |  
Hotel amenities
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
“lovely camping trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

we recently spent the weekend at the campgrounds,, very accommodating owners helped me to pick the perfect site. nice clean hot showers, convenient store on site so you don't have to leave and go into town. didn't catch any big ones but enjoyed lounging in the river while we fished. only down side was trying to find where to toss trash, our camping neighbors and I couldn't seem to find trash bins. we will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    2
    1
    12
See reviews for
14
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CUMMING GEORGIA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

the pictures are deceiving, there are little to no trees/shade where the travel trailers are to camp. If you are a tent camper then you can have shade on the river. Our site did not even have a picnic table and the playground was an old metal swing set that was falling apart and I would not have let my children play on it for anything. The store/office was open with flies and half eaten and opened products sitting on the shelves. We did not stay here, we called around to a few other campsites and found one much nicer.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

3rd time I've been. Camp right next to the river. Put my chair in the river and let the kids play all day. Electric and water for tent sites! Clean bath house with hot water. Ice and wood on premises. Definitely going to go back again and again and again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

...talk about a WONDERFUL CAMPGROUNDS sight!!!...we traveled from Minnesota to go camping with friends over Memorial Day weekend (2009) and the Etowah River Campgrounds are EXCELLENT!!!...large camp sights with electricity and water, clean restroom and showering facilities, access to ice and campfire wood, friendly people, and owners, Darrell & Jaki, greeting you upon arrival, making you feel at home (away from home) while you camp...the sight is beautiful, next to the river, and we would recommend it to everyone...

fergie

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Had a great time and the owners were very accommodating. Bath houses are kept very clean and laundry area is too. Fire wood, ice, other items are available if needed. Also have tubing!! Water is up, so tubing is great. Had a big group so the campground worked great for our tents and RV's.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

Upon arriving to this "campground" I was greeted by a security gate, not a "Welcome Campers" sign. This gate proceeded to close on our camper as we entered the entrance, doing $2,400 damage which the owners are refusing to pay!!?? When I inquired as to the reason for the faulty gate I was told it was to keep people from sneaking in and doing drugs in the middle ot the night by the river. This was not the family type retreat I was looking for. I was also told the gate normally only malfunctions when it's raining, are you kidding me??

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duluth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

We have been there several times. We usually like to go in the fall when the leaves are turning. We have a camper and found the sites very easy to get to and plenty of space between them.
Grounds are nice and clean. Bathrooms are very clean and nice.
Washroom is very clean as well as the appliances.
The owners are very helpful and enjoy doing anything to make your stay pleasant.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Etowah River Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etowah River Campground

Address: 437 Rider Mill Road, Dahlonega, GA 30533
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Etowah River Campground Hotel Dahlonega

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etowah River Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.