We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family fun that ties local history of gold with hands on fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crisson Gold Mine

Crisson Gold Mine
2736 Morrison Moore Pkwy East, Dahlonega, GA 30533
+1 706-864-6363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 attractions in Dahlonega
Type: Mines
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Here at Crisson Gold Mine you can Pan for Real Dahlonega Gold, and look for Gemstones. We have instructors that are willing to help you and your family have a fun adventure. We also offer the use of Trommels, Highbankers, Gold cubes to the person that wants to do more than just pan. Please call us to find out more information. The Crisson Gold Mine has a lot of history. It is an actual open pit gold mine that was established in 1847 and was worked commercially until the early 1980s. We've been open to the public since 1969 and we are the oldest gold mining establishment in North Georgia. At Crisson Gold Mine, there is a 130-year-old stamp mill that is still used to crush quartz rock which contains gold. This crushed rock is called ore. In addition to the stamp mill, we have rod mills and jaw crushers that we occasionally use. All of these antique gold mining machines along with our open pit mine can be seen when you visit our gold mine. We sell our ore by the 5-gallon bucket. You can pan for the gold at our gold mine, or you can take the ore home with you. For our more serious gold miners, we have trommels for your use during your visit to Crisson Gold Mine. These machines are used to separate the gold from the sand at a much more efficient pace. Several buckets of ore can be finished in less than half the time it takes to pan them out. New for 2014 you can now purchase a pan of quartz rock and use our crusher to crush them, then pan out the gold. This has been a big hit. Especially for the more serious miners.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family fun that ties local history of gold with hands on fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is awesome fun. We have visited twice in 2 months with different family members visitong us in GA. Fun for adults and kids. We recommend paying for the super high concentration of sand with gold and just shy of the wheel barrow load for precious stones. We're not rich, but everyone found something and great memories were made

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    16
    6
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are still here! I am catching up on reviews while my companion shifts through the sand for gold.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. This is our second trip to the mine and I am sure we will be back!

If you are with somene and you don't want to look for gold just bring a folding chair.

Kids seem to be havg a blast as well as their parents.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So much fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a blast panning for gold. We were all adults doing this and could only imagine how much more fun it would have been if we had discovered this place when our kids were little. Well worth the money for cheap entertainment. We absoutely love this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“waste of time and money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

no mine to see very little minerals for the kids spent 40 dollars for 2.00 in rocks the kids wanted to see something, lot of equipment. kids now days are too smart for this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golden42, Manager at Crisson Gold Mine, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I am sorry that the customer was not happy with what they found. They must not understand that the gemstones they found was worth more. When the gemstones are found in their natural state does look like rocks. But they are rocks that can be made into jewelry. But it is our policy to try to make each and every customer happy. We strive to make sure that each and every person adult or child leaves here with something to remember their trip but obviously it is hard to satisfy every person that enters our door. We do have a lot of repeat customers who have been coming here for years. Some of them came here when they where kids and now they are bringing their children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Was worth the day drive from Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Was really impressed with the number of gemstones we found. At least 2-3 pounds of pretty much every type you can possibly find at the mine. Store is nice, clean and has lots of fun things to look at. Make sure to wear plastic crocs or flip flops. Shoes will get pretty wet. Might want to bring a towel just to dry your legs off if you wear shorts. The water does splash a bit while you are sifting. Lovely setting, mostly shaded and covered. My 9 year old was tickled with the experience. Will definitely go again. About 90 minute drive from Athens on Hwy 52.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crisson Gold Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crisson Gold Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Crisson Gold Mine to your Saves list