We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All DRY, wines as was hospitality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frogtown Cellars

Frogtown Cellars
3300 Damascus Church Road, Dahlonega, GA 30533
706.865.0687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 16 Activities in Dahlonega
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“All DRY, wines as was hospitality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nice bar and room and view. All wines was DRY and hospitality was also dry. Bought no wines here. Would not return.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    27
    16
    12
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

A few folks have tried to capitalize on the highend crowd of Alpharetta that is less than an hour's drive from Dahlanega by creating an artifically high-brow atmosphere of a attractive mountain locaiton with seriously over-priced wine. This is one such location. I won't go into the wine much as that is a personal taste and this winery has won awards (albeit years ago). Let's talk about the wine tasting experience. Crowded and noisy. And the wine server? Totally not knowledgeable about the wines she served and prone to disappear for long periods of time. When we tried to describe the wines we liked her only response was "Oh, uh do you like sweet wines". She had zero concept of describing wine flavors and nuances. She actually told us that her favorite wine was one where the windery actually failed ot notice a broken FILTER and thus the wine was bottled with slight unplanned carbonation. Now that is the hallmark of a great wine maker. Oops I said I was not going to comment on the wine quality. We came to this winery on a Livingsocial which included a "cheese platter". The cheese platter turned out to be four crackers with tiny bits of cheese on them. What a joke. My advice keep driving. Try the wineries near Helen which are far less crowded and offer knowledgeable staff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sit back, relax, enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We consider this one of our favorite finds. If you are looking for a place to slip in, get a quick glass of wine, then this probably isn't for you. Frogtown is a place to awaken all your senses and enjoy. The wines are a gift to your pallet and sense of smell. The winery is beautiful and sits atop a hill that overlooks the vineyards and mountains and gives your eyes and ears a joyous sense of peace. Your sense of touch is gifted by the beautiful materials used in building this winery. We are proud to be citizens of Frogtown and visit as often as we can(we live over an hour away.) Do yourself a favor, come meet Craig(winemaker and owner) and his gracious wife Cydney. Don't come in a hurry and make sure you drink it all in.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The vineyard is right off the highway and a great new building. The tasting room was busy but we could get served. The is a great deck outdoors. The staff was attentive but very busy. It is very very picturesque. I felt is was a little impersonal. The good news is there are lots of wineries. Leave time to see a couple.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Come for the Wine stay for the View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Frogtown Cellars has a wide variety of exceptional wines that should suit anyone’s taste. I prefer the reds (Tannat, Propaganda, and Shotgun) but actually like their white wines as well (Inclination) and I don’t usually care for white wines. All of their wines are made exclusively of their Georgia grown grapes (unless otherwise noted) which is a point of pride for Frogtown since, unfortunately, many Georgia wineries use grapes from all over but fail to mention the fact.

The service at the tasting bar is wonderful. They will tell you about each wine without assuming you are an expert but will also elaborate if you want to know more. It can be very crowded on the weekends and the staff does an excellent job of making sure that everyone is given top notch attention, but it does result in waits. Our first visit to Frogtown the wait was two deep at the bar and we nearly walked out. What a mistake that would have been. You could see from those being served that it would be worth the wait. We became Citizens of Frogtown (wine club membership) that same day. I won’t get into all of the benefits of being a citizen, but it is well worth it. As an example, we visited one afternoon and the owner offered us and another citizen couple a sample tasting of a wine that he was just about to bottle (for free since citizens get to sample for free). Example two…Jackie at the sampling bar knew my name after only two or three visits. This place does not take its customers for granted.

Finally, the view from the Frogtown decks are well worth a long leisurely lunch of Panini sandwich and a bottle of wine (non-citizens should be aware that there is a corkage fee). The sandwiches and cheese plates range between $10 and $15 but everything they serve is excellent. Relax and look over Yonah Moutain while enjoying some of the best wine in Georgia (and beyond).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frogtown Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Frogtown Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frogtown Cellars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.