We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Smith House

The Smith House
84 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
+1 706-867-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 70 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Price range: $11 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Famous for our all-you-can eat family style meals. Country vegetable and fried chicken is everyone's favorite. Stay in our historic inn and visit our historic town square of Dahlonega where the first Gold Rush was located. The Smith House is locked one block from the square.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The food was very good and definitely plenty to eat. The staff was friendly. We just hated leaving all that food on the table. Such a waste but we could not eat it all in one sitting. Wish they allowed take out. It would have fed our family for two more meals.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    65
    40
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riceville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Thanksgiving Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The wait to be seated was incredibly long and while the food was very good, and eating with strangers can sometimes be enjoyable, as ours was, it was loud in the dining area. Very loud. I'm sure due to the holiday and the quite large turnout but it was too loud for me to enjoy. The servers were very attuned to our needs and were very pleasant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Good food & atmosphere, food is served family style at the table for all to take as desired. Will meet others from local area or visiting.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Much better than I remembered.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had lunch here for the first time in 20 or so years and was very impressed. The fried chicken was very good and not the least bit greasy, and all of the vegetables were well seasoned. The only thing I would like to see added to their menu would be some sort of cold dish as well, such as some sort of salad or cole slaw.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“JUST LIKE GRANDMA'S”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

YUMMY Southern style food and plenty of it, just like family dinner at Grandma's house!!
Its always a treat for me to dine at the Smith House. Seating is family style so if you are not a party of 8 you will be sitting with strangers however this is also part of the charm.The food is brought out in large bowls and on platters so you can pass them around and as soon as a dish is empty it gets refilled.Go hungry and eat till you think you will bust.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smith House also viewed

 

Been to The Smith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smith House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.