We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Tex Mex food but our waiter was great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Jimador

El Jimador
91 W. Main Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
(706) 864-9152
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 71 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Apopka, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Average Tex Mex food but our waiter was great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Four of us stopped in for lunch on a Saturday after shopping in downtown Dahlonega. After a short wait, we were shown our table. Our waiter quickly brought us nachos and salsa to nibble on while perusing the menu. Since it was our first visit, we each ordered different plates to get a good sample of the food. The place was packed so it took a little longer to get our meals from the over worked kitchen but our waiter kept the chips and salsa coming while re-filling our drink glasses. Our meals were just average quality Tex-Mex food - nothing that would make us go out of the way to come back. However based on the crowd, it appears that the other tourists and college kids seem to like it enough to keep it busy which may speak more to the lack of competition in the area.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas and Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Not sure why this isn't a top 10 place, but the top shelf margaritas, steak and shrimp nachos, and my friend's Chili Reno dinner was superb! If I get back to Dahlonega in the future, I'll be back to this place!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Watch the orders”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good food and food selection, good service, and prices are par for the area. Be careful that you get the right order if you are in a group.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, not the place to drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

If you want a decent drink, you need to ask the waitress "who here knows how to actually make a drink?". Otherwise, that same waitress is going to walk behind that bar and mix some random stuff together and charge you 12 bucks for it. The food has always been good, the service has always been good, but if you're going to pay for a certain drink, make sure you get someone who knows what they're doing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican Food in Lumpkin Co”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Spoiled during the 8 years I lived in California, I tend to be picky about my Mexican cuisine. I love most of the dishes at El Jimador. The salsas are always homemade & fresh. I will admit that the NGCU students can get rowdy & annoying...so it's not exactly a quiet or romantic atmosphere. But the service is great and the food is delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jimador also viewed

 

Been to El Jimador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Jimador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.