We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont be back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caruso's Italian Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caruso's Italian Grill
19B East Main, Dahlonega, GA
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Excellent food!
Restaurant details
Description: Excellent food!
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wont be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

First, that is not a photo from this restaurant - it is dark inside and looks nothing like that. The good points - size of portions, salad with house italian, spicy chicken soup, and bread. Our waitress, Candy, was very nice. Everything is 'homemade' so don't go if you are on a schedule. Not good - Ziti with meat sauce was bland, artichoke dip was gross, and "lasagna" (rolled noodle with cheese) was horrible. Bathroom was dirty. We will try Gustavo's next time...it can't be worse.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
tallahasse
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Check please?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Salad, two slices of pizza, two drinks. Should have been easy. Wife reported the toilet did not flush. Men's toilet needed a new flapper. The " decor" was early tired with a splash of dirty. Salad was ok, pizza was not. Nothing you could call service. Drinks were brought but allowed to sit empty. Food was dropped on the table like a pile of firewood. After waiting 15 minutes for the check we tallied up what we figured we owed, plopped the cash on the table among the dishes and never looked back. Explore a different dining experience when visiting Dahlonega.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Serving Dahlonega For Many Years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Many new places in Dahlonega, but Caruso's has been serving great fare for many years. On square downtown, nothing fancy interior wise, but good food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Needs help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Looking at the picture, I would never guess this was the same place! It is getting very run down, light fixtures are missing globes, light bulbs (only 1 out of 4 in each of two fixtures). Water came with no ice, so have to assume icemaker is broken or nonexistent. Food (eggplant parmesan and baked ziti with meat sauce) was adequate. Garlic bread was a poor excuse. Server had good intentions. Nonexistent wine list. Loud rock music inappropriate for Italian dinner setting. We hadn't been here in years, and we won't go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I really enjoyed this restaurant. The food and service was par-excellent! The prices are good and the atmosphere is very nice! Thanks for a good experience!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caruso's Italian Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caruso's Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.