We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Brisket is fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoking Gold Barbeque

Smoking Gold Barbeque
59 East Main St, Dahlonega, GA 30533
(706) 864-7427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 70 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Clarkesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Brisket is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a great meal this evening with our entire family. Everybody loved the food and of particular note was the brisket which is a definite "don't miss!" The service was exemplary. We met the owner and he's a nice fella as well. We finished with the banana pudding and my Mom who is ordinarily critical of other folks banana pudding declared it homemade - high praise indeed. We'll be back for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    24
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ, simply served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited based on other reviews, and were glad we did! The BBQ food is delicious, tasty side orders and simply served in a basket with disposable cutlery. Service was speedy and friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worst Bar B QUE EVER!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I do not understand how people enjoy this food to me everything was terrible. I tried this place more than once just to see if I missed something. The sides were not even good to me! Too much smoke flavor of something in the Bar b que!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stopped in based on other great reviews. The food was very good; and being from Missouri we've had our share of BBQ. I had brisket with baked beans and cornbread casserole. Hubby had chicken with coleslaw and potato salad. All of it great! Staff was very friendly. Not a fancy place but don't let it fool you....well worth the stop!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Tender, flavorful, quality food at a reasonable price with great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our first visit here as we were just passing thru after a 1/2 day hike up Blood Mountain.
I had several questions for our server who was very attentive and wanted to give me accurate information about the different choices. It was refreshing to have a server take pride in his job and treat customers so respectfully. He even offered to bring a sample of a side to help me know what I would be ordering.
As we enjoyed our delicious food; we discovered this was a family business and our server was the owner's son; who also helps smoke food. He really knew the business without that "know it all" attitude. The brisket was excellent and very tender. I especially liked the baked bean side. The chicken was tender and could be eaten without needing to smother it with a lot of sauce.
A great place to stop off; after hiking or wandering thru Dahlonega.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoking Gold Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Smoking Gold Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoking Gold Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.