We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, BBQ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smoking Gold Barbeque

Smoking Gold Barbeque
59 East Main St, Dahlonega, GA 30533
(706) 864-7427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 71 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Dahlonega, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OK, BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family and I tried Smoking Gold BBQ on a Saturday afternoon. The beef brisket is fantastic! I have never had such good beef brisket. The pork and ribs were good. The corn casserole was tasty, but the cole slaw was very plain and not tasty at all. They do not serve french fries. The service was good and our server was friendly and answered all of our questions.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    26
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dahlonega, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best BBQ Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We love the food at Smokin' Gold. I have a hard time choosing between the pork and the brisket. Another favorite is the burnt ends (of the brisket). Several side items to choose from. My favorite is the corn casserole. The owners are very "hands on" and always put their customers first. Great place to eat in Dahlonega.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We are BBQ fans so this place was a destination. We were not disappointed. The menu is small and you eat with plastic utensils and paper plates. There is a roll of paper towels on each table. the BBQ is cooked in the parking lot on a "big green egg" grill. The staff is very friendly, the prices are crazy cheap, and the food was great! Go on a Friday to buy the "burnt ends" of the brisket.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very fast and friendly service. The food was amazing. Our favorites were brisket, brunswick stew, pulled chicken, corn casserole, baked beans, and peach cobbler. The sauces were also excellent. And, of course, the Georiga sweet tea can't be beat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So glad we tried it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Service was awesome. Staff was attentive as was the owner. My husband and I split the three meat and two sides dinner. It was plenty for lunch. The Brisket was the best! the corn pudding and baked beans were awesome too and the prices were right on.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoking Gold Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Smoking Gold Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoking Gold Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.