We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Best store on the Square!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dahlonega General Store

Dahlonega General Store
24 Public Square South, Dahlonega, GA 30533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Shopping in Dahlonega
Type: Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Dawsonville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is the Best store on the Square!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I live near Dahlonega and have visited there often. It is a quaint little town with unique shopping and antiques around the Square. The Dahlonega General Store is a MUST visit if you are in the area. It really has something for Everyone! it harkins back to the 1800's type General Store when there was only one main store for the town and they sold a little bit of everything! I can always find a reasonable price unique gift there! They also sell many Homemade canned items--MANY types to choose from, and many southern cookbooks. They also have Old Fashioned candy and toys for the kids. They sell plenty of unique items relevant to the area including cheap priced big gem stones from the local mines and "southern" themed items. They also sell lots of unique knick kack items. Don't miss this when you stop on the square!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love the general store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting Dahlonega for 25 years and always have to visit the general store when we are there. The apple butter is amazing & all the nick nacks are fun to look at. Plus they have a huge carved wood bear that has been there since I was a little girl that amazes me erytime I see it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Park, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old Store charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Has something to interest just about anyone. Like an old general store. Great place to find out of the ordinary gifts for anyone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cool store”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A lot of variety. Everything from clothes, candy, toys, and other items. They carry a large assortment of knives and walking canes too. Dahlonega is a neat little mountain town. We like to drive up from Atlanta and tour several mountain towns like this one over a long weekend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The General Store was a great place to step back in time. Many of the items in the store brought fond childhood memories.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dahlonega General Store also viewed

 

Been to Dahlonega General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dahlonega General Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.