We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed ever.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Smith House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Smith House to your Saves list
The Smith House
84 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best bed ever.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the suites and it was very roomy and helpful to have a full kitchen, washer and dryer. The decor is a bit dated (not like charming dated, more like 80's dated) and the walls were scuffed up, but that had no impact on the quality of our stay. Also, the stairs to the suite are very slippery after it rains. Finally, with four of us staying in the suite, the hot water supply ran out and our showers were short and luke warm.

The beds, pillows and sheets were amazing! I slept like a baby.

Location is good though we didn't do a lot of exploring. There's free wifi in the room and decent parking outside.

I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    40
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
44
85
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed in room 11 on Saturday and found it lovely! Extremely clean, comfortable bed, great staff, great location. The location was excellent and we walked to all the shops downtown within 2 minutes.
Would recommend it and stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We rented out the Smith House for our son's wedding in April. The rooms vary from cosy to colossal - all are decorated with fine furniture and decorations. One of the areas has a common lobby for guests to relax in. If you are there for lunch or dinner, you MUST have the fried chicken in the restaurant - it may be the best in the world! The hotel is just off the Dahlonega square, so it is an easy walk to shopping and sightseeing. Finally, Chris and Freida and their staff were super nice and responsive - when we gave them an idea to better serve their customers, they responded quickly and implemented it. You cannot go wrong by staying here!

Room Tip: Room 18 or 19 has a huge TV and surround sound system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Nice historic hotel especially for the price. Room was a bit cramped but this was a former house converted into hotel rooms with private baths. Walls are a bit thin when people are rocking outside your room jabbering away but the tv takes care of that. The guy that checked me in was very nice and attentive. There is a rather large gift shop on premise but the two girls behind the counter could be heard all over the place jabbering away and not very customer friendly. Did not receive a bag for my purchase. There is a dvd about the Smith house and its gold available for sale hidden on the far side of the store on the bottom glass shelf or you can go downstairs and watch it. Do not miss the old gold "well" downstairs across from the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My fiance and I visited delohnega for the day and were suggested the smith house by a local teacher at their high school.
I honestly didn't even look to see what kind of restaurant it was, but I was disappointed.
It is very overpriced, all you can eat it or not. $44 for two people after tip and the food wasn't even remarkable. The sweet potatoes looked like they were out of a can and they tasted even more so like they were out of a can. The cream corn was excellent and their Fried chicken was good, but everything else was just okay. The strawberry shortcake was not good. Maybe I'm a food snob because my mom is a caterer, but if mama can do it this place should be able to!
The wait staff was EXCELLENT. Although they never said their names on arriving to our table. They refilled out drinks promptly and had our food out quickly.
Bottom line, I won't be going back. I would rather stay at home and eat at our restaurants for $12 and waaay better food.
The dining room needs a bit of an update as well. Very outdated.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We took a northern guest to the Smith House after hearing about their famous family-style southern cooking. What a disappointment! The food was okay but way short of Mary Mac's or the OK Cafe in Atlanta. Service and setting were adequate but without charm - even for family style. It was definitely not worth the trip from Atlanta.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was a very nice "hotel", though I don't really think hotel is the best description. It has more of a feel of a bed and breakfast inn. The Smith House is just that, a house. There are wood floors and staircases, siting areas both inside and out, and beautiful, home furnishings. The rooms are smaller than a normal hotel room because they were once bedrooms. Mine was very comfortable and I slept wonderfully. I did not eat at the restaurant due to a lack of time, but it looked inviting. Staff were friendly and took time to help orient me to the town for meeting the next day. Location is excellent being on the edge of the UNG Campus and across the street from the main cultural square in town. My only regret is that I did not have more time there to get a good book to spend the day reading there. I will definitely stay there again the next time I go to Dahlonega.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Smith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smith House

Address: 84 South Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from the historic public square of Dahlonega, The Smith House sits as one of Georgia's lanmark Inns; Known for serving true Southern family style meals and elegantly appointed hotel rooms. The city of Dahlonega claims to have the first major U.S. Gold Rush. The Smith House actually sits on one of the richest veins of gold discovered in the city. Today, you can view the original mine shaft discovered on the property in 1898. The property is within walking distance to all of the shopping, dining and theater venues offered in Dahlonega. The campus of North Georgia College & State University is also a short walk from the property. Come for a weekend or a week, you'll be glad you "Rediscovered The Tradition" at The Smith House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Smith House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smith House Hotel Dahlonega

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smith House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.