We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shenanigans Irish Pub

Shenanigans Irish Pub
87 North Chestatee Street, Dahlonega, GA
706-482-0114
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in Dahlonega
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Shenanigan's is temporarily closed due to renovations as a result of a fire. Shenanigan's will reopen in October.
Dunedin, FL
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a great stop after shopping on the square or touring wineries in the area. I highly recommend the Bangers and Mash, but without the roasted red peppers. The Bangers were as close to authentic as I've had in the States. The beer selection is a little limited, but certainly a wide enough variety for most. Sort of odd that they really didn't have any Irish beers on tap. Overall this place is a good value for the money and great place for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    73
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winder, Georgia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great, Great Sandwiches - bring your dog for the patio & the most $1 bills you have ever seen on a bar ceiling and walls

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fun find in North Georgia....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Enjoyed a lazy Holiday Monday at Shenanigans in Dahlonega, Ga. with friends.
The Pub was having a fundraiser for MS and shucking oysters for the cause! A little confusion upon getting names on the "wait" list, as they were extremely busy. This was one case where a sweet person up front, with a good personality, helped ease the wait time. The Pub is actually tucked into the basement of an old home, so it looks much larger that it really is....
Who would have thought that we could get excellent, first of the season, oysters, and help a good cause all at the same time! Especially up in the Mountains of North Georgia!
Great fish and chips, & oysters, great beer selections, (bottles & Tap), full bar. Burgers, first rate, and good salads. Loved the personalized $'s all over the walls....feel free to add your own.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, average food.....really dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The bathroom is disgustingly dirty, so I can only imagine what the kitchen looks like. The outside bar area smelled like garbage cans at a loading dock. I would drink the beer here from a sealed bottle, but that's about it. My husband loves the place---said the food was good, but I couldn't get past the lack of cleanliness.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Shepards Pie and Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The food was excellent. My sister loved the fish & chips and my brother-in-law raved about the Shepards pie. I had a burger and it was cooked to perfection. I swapped the onion rings for the chips and they were really good too. The atmosphere was very fun. My nephew is attending North Georgia University and we look forward to dining here again when we are back in Dahlonega.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenanigans Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Shenanigans Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shenanigans Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.