We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History of Dahlonega Gold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dahlonega Gold Museum State Historic Site

Dahlonega Gold Museum State Historic Site
1 Public Square, Dahlonega, GA 30533
706 864 2257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 29 things to do in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This site tells the story of the Gold Rush of 1828.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“History of Dahlonega Gold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Who knew that there was gold in Dahlonega before the CA goldrush. So interesting to find out how they gold was mined. Saw a few samples of gold veins running through the rocks. All of the personnel were very well informed, answered all of our questions. Saw a short film of the unique techniques used to mine the gold. Really a very interesting site.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    56
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Finally a history lesson that made you want to go out and explore in the mountains. the sites, pictures and information was absolutely fascinating.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Visited in March. We have been through Georgia many times but this was our first to Dahlonega. The museum was interesting and there are numerous shops and eateries around the museum. We went on a Sunday afternoon and parking was a challenge but there are options on many on the side streets. It was nice to get out of the car and walk around but we wouldn’t put it in any future travel plans. Other than shopping, I don’t think there is much for children.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A nice little find in a fun town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were freestyling around north Georgia and ran across Dahlonega GA. We had never heard of it and had no knowledge of what treasures it held. It was a very enjoyable day. The museum is worth a stop and the slide/video will open your eyes to the fact that this area of the country was the site of the nation's first gold rush...coins were minted here. The downtown is a fun shopping experience. A great fun day. I highly recommend it. Even though our 15 daughter enjoyed it...I am not certain what teen boys would think of it. Great for a couple with a sense of curiosity and history. Very convenient visitor's center right on the square (with restrooms).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very cute and interesting, a great place to go with the family for a day outing. The town is adorable to walk around. The shops varied and fun to walk through with merchandise that is reasonable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dahlonega Gold Museum State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Dahlonega Gold Museum State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dahlonega Gold Museum State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.