We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geat place to visit for all.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dahlonega Gold Museum State Historic Site

Dahlonega Gold Museum State Historic Site
1 Public Square, Dahlonega, GA 30533
706 864 2257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Attractions in Dahlonega
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This site tells the story of the Gold Rush of 1828.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Geat place to visit for all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The building is fantastic and the history of the building is being preserved. The individuals that work there went out of their way to answer our questions and and spent time with us to tell us the building history before it became the museum. I am very interested in the history of the area and the buildings. I was shown an area not open to the pubic where you can see the bricks that have not been touched over time and you can see the gold in the bricks shining through. Great place to start your Dahlonega experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    53
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dahlonega, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great History Lesson for the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Was really surprised with the amount & quality of information in this rather small museum. The video shown upstairs is quite an eye opener and you can't leave without feeling you've stepped back in time. The whole town is full of great stories and a lovely town square!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine FL
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stopped in here on a cold windy day for something to do. My wife and I were both amazing at the history and the story telling about the ghosts that haunt the place.

Well worth the visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A jewel on the town square!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Several years ago we stumbled into the Gold Museum because it was raining and we needed something to do. What a surprise we had. It was well worth the few dollars it cost to get in. They have a great selection of items and photos from the early years of the first gold rush in the US.

The video of gold miners from the area is very interesting to watch. The staff at the museum are very helpful on giving even more interesting little bits of information. Like the fact that the bricks used to build the courthouse were made from the mud around the building. When the sun shines on the bricks you can see all the gold dust and flakes in the bricks. They talk about how at one point in history all the furniture from the building was throw out onto the streets from the second floor Windows. When the building was restored a lot of the furniture was returned from the locals that had claimed it from the road.

If you find yourself in the Lumpkin Co area, the Gold Museum should be a must see stop. The Dahlonega square is full of history from the gold stamp, to the Smith House, to the diving bell, to the museum and so much more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Good Place for History of the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The old courthouse contains many historical exhibits. Most deal with the gold mining that used to take place in the are. Rather interesting, even for a local.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dahlonega Gold Museum State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Dahlonega Gold Museum State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dahlonega Gold Museum State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.