We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once Again Mtn Top out did themselves.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega
Save
You added Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega to your Saves list
447 Mountain Top Lodge Rd, Dahlonega, GA 30533   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
tn
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Once Again Mtn Top out did themselves.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is truly a great getaway, quiet, restful and secluded. This has become our home away from home, clean, great food and a very hospitable innkeeper. We can't imagine spending our anniversary anywhere else. Thanks Paul for making it all it should be. We are already planning our next trip. Oh, and as someone stating it was dated, it is quiet relaxing atmosphere. If they want flashing lights and loud neighbors, they definitely need to be some other place and not at Mountain Top Lodge .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    16
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
99
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I must say that I was very disappointed in the Mountain Top Lodge. In reality it is not nearly as nice as presented in the pictures. It is very dated and worn looking. The mattress was horrible unless you like very hard mattresses. I have stayed in alot of B&Bs before and this is far below what I expected for the price. On the positive side, the owner was friendly and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountainTopInnkeeper, Owner at Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
I feel that Mountain Top Lodge provides excellent value to the consumer, providing a "mountain retreat " B&B experience with a rustic and eclectic style. Each room has a unique feel and if I believe that these guests stayed in the Vt. cabin room which has several prominent and dark antiques. It has a more masculine feel to the room. Unfortunately, these guests tried to reserve another room with a completely different and feminine decor, but took this room as their second choice to ensure that they had a fireplace, jacuzzi tub and private deck overlooking the woods. It was a festival weekend and there were no available rooms at other B&Bs with similar amenities.
I have to say that I accompany all guests to their rooms, and I frequently get a response of "this is just perfect" or something similar from most guests when they see the Vt. Cabin room. However, I take the negative reviews seriously and plan to explore whether or not I can enhance the decor by changing some of the pieces since most of the facility and soft furnishings are fairly new.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville,FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The mountain top lodge was just what we wanted--we had a secluded room with a large private deck in the separate lodge house (room 11) for 3 of us. Our family enjoyed the old fashioned game room in the main lodge (scrabble and other board games, puzzles etc), the friendly service, and great cooked breakfasts. Went to Amicolola falls nearby, and into Dahhonega. The lodge is very clean, well equipped and charming--I don't know why the previous reviewer would call the lodge "dated"--the vintage character and relaxing atmosphere are what I enjoy about staying in a B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was our second visit to Mountain Top Lodge and we plan to come again. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast and hospitality were both great. There are other B&B's in the area, but this is nice as it is secluded in the woods yet close enough to make a 10 minute drive to Dahlonega or hiking points. Would recommend for anyone who wants to just get out of the city for a weekend (like those in Atlanta).

Room Tip: We like the rooms that are in the building off ot the main building. More privacy-all with their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Fiance and I stayed one night. The place is your typical bed and breakfast with the very dated feel that a person would generally picture when they think of a B&B. I think that this place would benefit with an update to the decor and make it more current. The owner was very pleasant and the food was very good. We stayed in Room 10 which was not part of the main house. The room was very nice with a fireplace and good view but had that feel like you are staying at Grandma's. Be aware that there is no TV, we apparently missed that on the website, our fault not theirs. One last thing, the stairs up to the game room are spaced wider apart than normal stairs so be careful going up and down.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is our second trip and this time we brought friends. Wow. Everything was great and was even better than our first trip. Our friends are already talking about returning. All I can say is that the accommodations are just right for a relaxing stay. If you want quiet with nothing to disturb you this is the place to stay. It is only minutes from Dahlonega but you will feel like you are miles away from everything. The breakfast is wonderful and the innkeeper could not be any nicer. All I can say is that we have found a home away from home and will not hesitate to return. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: No preference. They all seem great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This was our first time staying at a B&B, and we were truly spoiled! The innkeeper Paul was very inviting, the breakfast was delicious, the room was cozy, and I could go on! Even for the middle of February, the view of the mountains and forest were lovely. I can only imagine what it must be like in the summer. We will definitely be returning to find out! Thank you, Paul, for a wonderful Valentine's Day!

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the main house with the game room and dining room; other rooms are a 30-second wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega

Address: 447 Mountain Top Lodge Rd, Dahlonega, GA 30533
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the country B&B charm of this secluded 14 acre estate property. Relax on the decks and porches of the main lodge or the romantic Hillside Lodge. Choose from 12 bedrooms, some with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, decks and separate entrances. Inviting decor using antiques, regional art pieces and quilts create a warm and 'country rustic' feel. Full breakfast; WIFI ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Top Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Top Lodge at Dahlonega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.