We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to move into this little slice of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dahlonega Spa Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dahlonega
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dahlonega Spa Resort
Save
You added Dahlonega Spa Resort to your Saves list
400 Blueberry Hill, Dahlonega, GA 30533 (Formerly "The Blueberry Inn")   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Dahlonega B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“I want to move into this little slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I had never been to this part of the country and was in search of some rest, relaxation and great food. At the Dalonega Resort & Spa, I found all three plus beautiful scenery, exemplary service, spa and a true getaway unlike any other I have ever experienced.

This is an incredibly beautiful area which offers peace and tranquility. You can be as detached as you want but still have the comforts of small town living and wineries nearby. The resort itself is immaculate, decorated beautifully and in such a comfortable and welcoming way.

The grounds are beautiful, rolling hills with views of beautiful land. The wrap around porch has plenty or rocking chairs with blankets to relax with on crisp days.

The food: wonderful! You can tell you are having a meal cooked to order, just for you with such care and grace. Incredibly delicious and healthy, truly homemade. Hot tea is available at all hours and the selection of Yogi teas is unreal.

Rooms: we stayed room #12 in the west wing and it was incredibly charming. Cindy bed, no TV, plenty of storage and great views. Bathroom is a little small but all needed amenities are provided. The carpet could have used a cleaning and the walks are pretty thin (guest in room next to us snored like a Mack truck and we could hear it) but it was ok. Wonderful a/c unit.

The standout star of our stay was Sasha. She took the time to serve our breakfast and give us a tour of the grounds, including a tour of the cottage and private cabins. Pretty amazing! She was very professional, gracious and courteous. We also were very impressed with Gabrielle and Sandy. Kudos to all!

We will definitely be back, can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
27
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I spent two weeks at the resort for yoga training. The resort and the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and provide any amenities we required, from arranging spa treatments to coordinating housekeeping around our training schedule. Every staff member introduced themselves during the first two days and made a point to remember our names. By the end of the stay I felt like I'd gone to a friend's house rather than a bed and breakfast. for dinner, the servers made napkin art for us and without fail every candle in the dining room was lit for a very relaxed mood. I can't remember a staff member that didn't have a smile each time I saw them, lending to a positive atmosphere during a stressful training and time away from home.
The accommodations were simple and homey. We were provided with organic, natural bath products. There are no TVs in the rooms allowing you to really disconnect and be in nature and decompress. The views from the rooms are of the mountains and rolling hills. A couple miles from town, you only have the sounds of nature to drift off to sleep to. And the yoga room! Nestled in the woods, a large, wooden floor room with a newly installed heater with all the yoga props you could ask for. They also provided a tea pot so we could make tea during our discussions. The room is separate from the house so you get a different space for practicing. It was nice to have our own space to practice and meet.
Now the food. I have read a couple reviews about the food and not having enough variety. I did not find this to be the case AT ALL. For breakfast, the days we were provided a buffet, there was everything laid out from the menu for us! Literally, enough of every single item to feed everyone staying there. There were no choices because they gave us everything: omelets, scrambled eggs, fresh mixed fruit, wheat pancakes, french toast, warm maple syrup, yogurt and house made granola, breakfast turkey sausage and bacon, an ample variety of juices and jellies, coffee and a wide assortment of herbal tea. What more could I really possible want?! On the days we ordered off the menu, the chef made it clear there were no holds barred. To say they were more than accommodating is an understatement. our lunches and dinners came in courses. Lunch and dinner each included a fresh salad and homemade soup. I literally tried 28 soups during my stay and they were all delicious! Vegan and vegetarian meals were largely what was prepared for us and I never knew how creative one could get. I tried quinoa for the first time, we had eggplant and tofu several different ways, and always fresh local ingredients. We had cornish hen that was out of this world! The chefs at the resort really put a lot of thought not only into providing delicious food for us, but healthy food. I was concerned about eating all my meals at the same place, and my fears were quickly dispelled. I don't think I have eaten so well for a solid two weeks compared to the what we were provided during our stay. if you stay here or not, you really must stop by and eat in the restaurant.
Dahlonega, GA is not going to be a vacation destination for everyone. But if you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle, stay in a scenic nature-filled environment, eat healthy delicious food and feel like you're staying at a friend's house rather than a B7B, Dahlonega Spa resort is the perfect place for you. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you can stay on the second floor, you will have a better view of the mountains and scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a fabulous place to relax and unwind. Close to the charming town of Dahlonega but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet, you can choose from lovely guest rooms in the Inn, the guest house or (as we did) stay in one of the truly luxurious log cabins which are scattered around the grounds. With a full kitchen, the cabins are a great way to save money as you can cook some of your own meals. But be sure to make a reservation at the restaurant on the grounds as well as the organic, locally sourced foods are delicious. You can read about our stay in more detail on my travel blog here: http://www.wanderlustwonder.com/2013/01/30/dahlonega-spa-resort-in-dahlonega-georgia/

Room Tip: We really loved our log cabin. It was as nice as a luxury hotel room but included a full kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I've escaped to the Dahlonega Spa Resort several times and I haven't been disappointed. I would describe this as a clean, simple place to get away and experience peace, I find it difficult to leave the front porch of the main hotel. The view of the mountains is captivating. The staff I met were friendly and helpful, yet respected my longing for quiet and solitude. The food was tasty and healthy.

I've hiked the trails, rocked in the chairs on the porch, enjoyed the deck by the small pond with the dragon flies, watched the sun set from the porch and found the peace I needed to dream, to plan, to make life decisions. What are you waiting for? Go... I plan to return soon for a time of peace and prayer to bring in the New Year.

Room Tip: I've stayed in the Cottage rooms and find them comfortable, simple and spacious, especially the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I just discovered this place and have to say that I'm in love. The property is huge and hiking was a joy. I love the rooms, simple, clean and charming. The front porch is my new go-to "happy place" if I'm stressed :-) the wind chimes are a joy to listen to and the views are amazing. I loved sitting in the rocking chair with a blanket and some tea. aaahhhh. My room was wonderful, I even had a view of the rolling hills and mountains from my room! The staff was very kind and helpful. Before I left I did the algae wrap and highly recommend it to anyone interested in a wrap. My skin is super soft. Their food was delicious and all very healthy. This is my new favorite place and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed a weekend at the Dahlonega Spa Resort and the property is absolutely gorgeous! The room and building was very clean as well. Breakfast was very average...nothing special, but it's easier to just eat there than to have to drive in town. My biggest complaint was the staff, who just wasn't very friendly...in fact just kind of stared with a blank expression....didn't exactly give me the warm fuzzies. We didn't go to there to hang with the staff, so that's okay in a way to be left alone...but just a little friendliness and happiness goes a long way. One young gentleman in particular kind of reminded me of a zombie just shuffling around with no expression. I even tried to say something to get a smile out of him and to no avail. So, if you're looking for lots of warm hospitality and people with personalities, you might want to try somewhere else. But if you want to be left alone with a good wine buzz, it could be just fine.

Room Tip: Rooms have very thin walls so if you are a "noisey person" everyone will hear you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great location for 4 of the wineries! Property is beautiful. We didn't take in any of the resort activities, mainly went for wine tastings.

We staying in the main rooms, not the cabins. The room was like a bed and breakfast room, one bed and bathroom. Nothing fancy so I think a little high priced for that but not too bad when compared to other places in the area. The walls were a little thin so you can hear your neighbor.

We only had breakfast and it was okay as well. Nothing great so again, a little high priced for nothing really special.

Hot tub was big and nice, but very hot. Almost too hot so we couldn't stay in long.

All in all, I'd stay there again because of the location. I'll probably try some place else on my next visit to see how it compares.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dahlonega Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dahlonega Spa Resort

Address: 400 Blueberry Hill, Dahlonega, GA 30533 (Formerly "The Blueberry Inn")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dahlonega Spa Resort is a wedding/events venue, yoga or teacher training retreat center located on 72 acres near the Historic Gold Rush town of Dahlonega, Georgia. Nestled in The Heart of North Georgia Wine Country, Dahlonega Spa Resort is just a little over an hour's drive from Atlanta. It features breathtaking views of the Blue Ridge Mountains from a huge wrap-around porch. The Resort also has a restaurant, so all-inclusive packages are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dahlonega Hotel Dahlonega

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dahlonega Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.