We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Park Place Hotel to your Saves list
Park Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 S. Park Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Dahlonega
Certificate of Excellence 2014
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I was impressed with this hotel. It's located across the street from the main square of the town and is a very short walk from all the shops and restaurants in town. The room was clean and comfortable, free parking lot facing the building and a big plus was the free wi-fi. The staff was very polite and attentive. I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    21
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
48
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Simple yet elegant. You can not beat the location. Really quaint boutique hotel. Love the fact that most rooms had a suite. It was great to be able to spread out. Great views. Special place for a quick getaway!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is located in what it seems an old house, but it has been fully renovated, spacious rooms, and bathrooms, top notch toiletries, fresh linens, beautiful location on the heart of the prettiest little town. Loved my time there, definitely will go again if in the area. This is the type of hotel where the concierge will meet you, but after that they wont bother you again, there is no room service, is not that kind of hotel, you don't really need it, just around the corner there are a ton of little cafes, restaurant, etc. and if you like antiquing, you will be in the 5th heaven!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Manhattan, gorgeous suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a great little boutique hotel right on the square in Dahlonega. Stayed here with my daughter to visit the University of North Georgia. It is walking distance to restaurants, shops, entertainment, bars, and UNG. The hotel has a great outdoor area and the rooms are well decorated and immaculate. The staff and owners are very friendly and responsive. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a one night stay in the peak leave season. The hotel staff was excellent and the rooms were clean and very updated. It is in the center of downtown and convenient to walk anywhere in town. There is a patio configured with a fire pit. It appears controlled as we did not see wood readily available. I would recommend a second floor room as you readily here the activities on the upper floors. I would not splurge on the suite unless you plan to spend a lot of time in the room. The was a great clean place to stay very centrally located.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to assuage the pains of moving home. The location is ideal for central Dahlonega, and the building is an old motel which has been resolutely moved upmarket (though having a tuxedo shop on the premises is perhaps a step too far),

The hotel offers suites with separate bedroom and sitting room. The décor is reasonably fresh (though I dislike the glass bowl sink in the bathroom - just too "trendy"). Comfortable bed, two TVs, big whirlpool bathtub.
The brochure which offers a bottle of wine needs updating (or maybe that is offered only to special guests, which we obviously were not). No restaurant or breakfast - but with all of Dahlonega only a step away, who needs that?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Pros:
We came up for an event and were here a couple of nights. We were met in the parking lot by a young gentleman who took our bags to our upstairs room. That was great. Their customer service was really impressive. The hotel itself is old, old old. Maybe was an old house? Our room was small but was absolutely lovely. I loved the furnishings. Very country, but updated, too with nice touches. We only had a double bed and the bathroom/shower was basically adjoined so there was little privacy. (there was a sliding door with frosted glass and wood that was open at the top and bottom). That worked out ok.
The location is great. You're on the square and the rooms have wrought iron patio furniture so you can watch the activities. There's also seating out front near the street. I really liked that. You can walk to anywhere around the square or the college from here. Very laid back atmosphere.
The bed was very cozy and comfortable and everything was very very clean. I loved the hardwood floors and the furnished wine glasses. I would, without hesitation, stay there again.
Cons:
The room was not cheap. It was really overpriced but this being a college town with multiple events for a variety of populations, I'm sure that keeps out clientele that might not respect the lovely, quaint furnishings.
Parking was awful. There were literally no parking spaces when we arrived and we were told to temporarily park in a handicapped spot. Once we parked we didn't move the car again. The lovely young woman at the front desk actually apologized for the inconvenience. The hotel shares parking with 2 public parking areas that has local employees as well as tourists parking there. There were no events Sunday morning and someone waited for us to leave to get our parking space because there were none available.

Room Tip: Travelers with mobility issues need to request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 27 S. Park Street, Dahlonega, GA 30533
Location: United States > Georgia > Dahlonega
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Dahlonega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Place is a special upscale Inn located on the Historic Square in downtown Dahlonega. The Suites are detailed with all the luxuries of the finest Hotels, from beds, linens, climate control, wet bars, flat screen televisions, Starbucks coffee and complimentary wine. The spacious one room Suites and two room Suites are all unique in furnishings, however their cleanliness, decorations and fine details are like no other, even compared with the larger Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Dahlonega

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.