We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cumming Georgia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cumming Georgia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cumming Georgia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   870 Buford Hwy, Cumming, GA 30041   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cumming
Certificate of Excellence
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I called this hotel directly a week before arrival and was ensured that I would get a two bed suite. I also asked for a high floor, away from elevator, all vending machines and road noise as I am a very light sleepr. Upon checking in at 4:15, I was told there were no high floors that in fact my room was on the first floor. I was VERY unhappy w/this especially since I had made my reservation directly over the phone. Not only was my room on the first floor, they gave me a HANDICAPPED room right next to the elevator, vending machines, housekeeping, AND fitness room plus directly across from a meeting room. I was awakened at 7:15 the next morning by blaring TV noise - I was told on checking out that this had come from the fitness room. The breakfast was terrible. We were there 40 mins before the breakfast was supposed to end and there was very little to choose from: 3 cereals, one egg, automatic pancake machine did not work - PATHETIC. I had to ask the attendant for more eggs and she said there was some there - yes, ONE. She gave me ONE more and did not refill the egg container. No apologies from the front desk for the room, the blaring noise, the lousy breakfast. I will never, ever stay here again. Not a good first time experience w/this chain. I'll stay elsewhere in the future - especially for the expensive rate and it was AAA! Front desk staff was very apathetic - pitiful!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
12
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed just one night, but would recommend this hotel to others. Its located off of the main road (across the street from Northside Hospital) It is in a busy area with plenty of restaurants, stores (including a high end outlet down the street with 50 stores or so)
The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly. The room was nicely decorated and the bathrooms were modern and clean with granite countertops. Their is free wi-fi, a restaurant that serves a good sized continental breakfast including bagels, muffins etc.. There is a fitness room and an indoor pool.
There is no bar nor do they serve dinner or snacks but there is a restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms gulf coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Had 3 rooms (standard, minisuite, and 2 room suite); each was decorated tastefully, very clean and large. All rooms had a mini fridge and microwave. It's always nice to have a fridge for the convenience to keep drinks cold. For around $100 it was a great value. This included a great breakfast. Employees were nice and accommodating too.
I would definitely advise anyone planning a stay to goggle the address and actually see where it is; it took us a few minutes to find (Its beside the Lowe's).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We were in town for a wedding, and really only spent the night in the hotel. The people at the front desk were very accommodating when we arrived, and answered any and all questions we had about the area. The room was one of the cleanest rooms I've ever been in. And, although the complimentary breakfast was not the best I've ever had, it certainly ranked among the top. I can definitely see why this hotel is #1 in Cumming!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

I stayed here as part of a web package last summer and have been back to the area several times since. Even though I misjudges how far the school my son attends is from here, I keep staying here. The staff are helpful and friendly (one clerk actually copied multiple pages for me one day when I asked where the nearest copy center was), the rooms are big, clean, and all have a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in them. The rooms, grounds, and building is clean and very simply pretty. Breakfast is simple but ample. There are lots of little things like free wireless internet access, lots of accessable electrical plugs (admit it, how many motel beds have you crawled under to plug in your phone?), nearby restaurant variety is nice. It is right next to the highway but a bit tricky to find and on a wicked intersection (and yet very quiet) , but I drive back and forth from Dahlonega and have stayed here 3 times now. The second time there, the clerk asked about my son! I can't say enough about this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel is very clean, conveniently located, and nice-looking decorations. That said, it was hard to fine due to lack of signage on the road. It is set back behind other buildings and hard to see. Apparently, Holiday Inn won't allow them to share a sign and the county won't approve a solo sign. I drove around for 15 minutes, even with a GPS system, trying to locate the building.

While the decoration is nice looking, the chaise in my bedroom was miserable to sit on. I'd much rather have a nice, comfy chair with an ottoman. Beautiful does not necessarily equal comfort. The other odd thing was that the drapes were only for looks and did not close. There was a transparent curtain, but it did not block the light at all. I have never been in a hotel room that did not have drapes that could be closed. Whoever made the decisions on how to decorate this place did not take into account the comfort of the guests.

The breakfasts were very good, the place was very new and clean, and with so many restaurants and stores close by, it is very convenient. I am rating this as average only because of the uncomfortable seating, inability to close drapes, and a staff that ignored complaints that a printer did not work in the business center, while the other one printed only in red.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We are not big lovers of hotels and prefer to stay in b&bs whenever we can. However, we needed a base in Cumming to attend an event and this hotel fitted the bill perfectly and is nicer than the other hotels in the area. It's location on a retail park is not picturesque, but is great from a practical point of view, being close to shopping and restaurants. The hotel is relatively new. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was more than adequate and the free internet access was appreciated. We didn't use the pool, but it looked very nice. All in all a good stay and I would recommend the hotel to anyone who needs a comfortable base.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumming
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cumming
Hampton Inn Cumming
#1 of 5 in Cumming
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 5 in Cumming
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta North/Alpharetta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta
Atlanta Marriott Alpharetta
#1 of 24 in Alpharetta
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun Suites of Cumming
Sun Suites of Cumming
#4 of 5 in Cumming
3.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cumming Georgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cumming Georgia

Address: 870 Buford Hwy, Cumming, GA 30041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Cumming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cumming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cumming Georgia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta-Cumming, located off GA 400 at exit 14 (Buford/ Highway 20). Conveniently located at the Marketplace which offers retail shopping and casual dining restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, we are just what you need when you are on the move. For the outdoorsman, Lake Lanier is a short drive away where you can enjoy boating, fishing and a variety of water sports and activities. The Chattahoochee River offers great trout fishing as well and is a great place to go if you are wanting to do some fly fishing. For the music lover, the new Verizon Amphitheater at Encore Park in Alpharetta is minutes away offering outdoor concerts. Northside Hospital of Forsyth is the premiere hospital located in Cumming, GA that specializes in adult and pediatrics along with intensive care and the newly opened Women's Center (opened August 2008). Lanier Technical College is within minutes of the hotel as well. Corporate locations include Lafarge, North 400 Industrial Park, Panduit,Tyson Foods, Inc., Siemens, AC Smith Poultry Co, GMB Plastics, American BOA, Inc., General Motors and Advanced Automation. Whether you are visiting the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atlanta-Cumming for business or pleasure... Stay Real! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cumming Georgia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cumming Georgia Hotel Cumming
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Cumming Georgia
Holiday Inn Express Cumming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cumming Georgia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.