We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not first class breakfast or internet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Covington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Covington to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Covington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9159 Access Road NW, Covington, GA 30014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Covington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not first class breakfast or internet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Hotel representatives, foyer, room and cleanliness were excellent.
2 main issues for me have me grading this hotel as a 3 instead of 5;

First, the internet was nonexistent. Most of the time it wouldn't connect, and when it did, it crawled. I wasn't the only person with this issue. I wouldn't work on my iphone, my hubby's laptop or his windows phone. I heard from others how they had the same problem. Although hotel management contacted the service provider and was on the phone with them for at least 1/2 an hour, the issue couldn't be corrected.

Secondly, the breakfast was seriously below average. The eggs were a premix (understandable) but VERY salty, the fresh fruit consisted of bananas, there was no butter (only edible oily product) and the breads were bland and tasteless.

Room Tip: We had a room that overlooked a lovely treed deck out back. It was beautiful, but it's also whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leana W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Covington, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Patricia V,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about our hotel and thank for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Covington. Our staff works very hard to provide wonder service and southern hospitality to our guests.

I do apologize for the internet and breakfast issue that you experienced during your stay. I have shared you feedback with our team and we are working to improve the issues that you experienced.

Please contact me directly at the hotel 770-784-9200 ext 505 to farther discuss your concerns. Thank you again for your feed back and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    6
    5
    10
See reviews for
23
13
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Holiday Inn at Covington, GA was an excellent hotel. Being right off of Hwy 20 you have access to many smaller towns with excellent shopping and sightseeing. The personnel are very, very personable and was attentive to our needs. The facility is clean and fresh! Absolutely no problems and we were there for a week. The breakfast was adequate and hot. The town of Covington has an excellent antebellum tour and the "Square" is an excellent place to start. The shops around the square had something for everyone. The pool is outside and so is not heated. We were a little to early to swim in it as it was very cold, but that was not an issue. We had a lot to do along the "Treasures of Hwy 20".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hotel was nice and staff was friendly and helpful! I along with several other family members stayed at hotel to attend wedding reception being held at the hotel. The hotel proved to be a great venue --

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Gina, (Jeana) at the front desk is a jewel. She was friendly, efficient, helpful and professional all in one person. We were tired from traveling and she checked us quickly. She even helped us carry our suitcases to our room. We could not of asked for more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at this HI Express two different nights going to, and returning from the Masters Golf Tournament. Staff was aware of extra golf groups, extended breakfast hours to accomodate the early rising golf travelers, and even had welcoming gift bags. Rooms were clean, and even though the motel is next to an busy Inter State Highway..........the rooms were relatively quiet. Good value, and great staff service. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of the Motel, you'll be further from the 24/7 truck noice on I-20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this location at the last minute due to a forgotten reservation at another hotel which was sold out.

Upon check I wss greated by Gina who was very welcoming. She checked me right in and was able to move me to another room as the first one was smoked in prior to my stay. After moving to a new room everything was great.

The entire staff at this location getsvthe concept of customer service. I have recommended this hotel as the place to put up our guests when we have visitors as opposed to our current hotel of choice who was not welcoming this time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was convenient and the college rate of $85/night was nice. However, you get what you pay for. The room had an ant infestation and the bed and pillows were lumpy. If my daughter chooses Emory Oxford, we will be finding a different hotel for visits.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Covington, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear HighXpectationz,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We do appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry about the ants and the bed. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Covington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Covington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Covington

Address: 9159 Access Road NW, Covington, GA 30014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Covington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Covington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Covington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Covington Georgia is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, conveniently Located to I-20 at Exit 90, just a short drive to Atlanta, Augusta, and Athens home of the Georgia Bulldogs. This beautiful hotel with its unique atrium design appeals to the business and leisure travelers offering a wide variety of amenities that meets or exceeds their expectations. We boast free high speed Internet, 24hr business center, fitness facility, outdoor pool, microwave-refrigerator and plasma TVs in all of our guest rooms.Business:, Komatsu, Amada America, General Mills, SKC, C.R. Bard Medical, Valspar Corp., Pactiv Hospitals: Newton Medical Center Univeristies: Oxford College of Emory University, Dekalb Technical College Local Attractions: Blue Willow Inn, Georgia International Horse Park, Georgia Aquarium, Stone Mountain Park, CNN, Stay Smart and sleep smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Covington, Georgia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Covington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Covington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Covington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.