We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins are dumps!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2459 H US Highway 280 West, Cordele, GA 31015   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Cordele
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cabins are dumps!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The cabins are on the lake, however $175 a night + tax = $200 for that! The cabins need to be completely torn down. The beds and the bathroom was just awful. The pools were very small. We were there for an event, so the price was jacked up. It was not worth it at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeBlackshear, Front Office Manager at Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every experience a great one. The cabins are quite popular for the state park environment, as they are designed to be more rustic. We have a great sales department that specializes in event pricing, being sure to customize each rate according to the group's needs. You may enjoy a villa or lodge, as they are similar to traditional hotel rooms, without the cabin appeal! Please contact us if we can assist you in any way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    44
    19
    11
    14
See reviews for
20
51
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warner Robins, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I recently celebrated our 51st wedding anniversary and did not want to travel far. We decided to go about an hours drive from our home to a beautiful golf course called Veterans' Park in Cordele GA. On the ground there is a fine dining restaurant with an excellent menu and great service.

The hotel is adjacent to the restaurant with rooms that are very comfortable and priced comfortably. There are only four rooms over the pool with a balcony. These are premium rooms.

There is an indoor pool and an outdoor pool with a hot tub. There is a grand view of Lake Blackshear from the pool. You can see the marian and boat activity on the lake from the pool area.

My husband played golf on the very well kept course. Reminder! If you are here during the summer, this is the where the Queen Mother breeds all the gnats of the universe!

Villas are also available but do not have a full kitchen; however, there are cottages available for 8 that have a full kitchen.

The area is off 1-75 about 12 miles and is an excellent choice for any occassion. There are many activites and playgrounds for chidlren in the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeBlackshear, Front Office Manager at Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
I'm so excited that you chose us to help you celebrate your 51st anniversary! How wonderful! You're quite right about Mother Nature, but cooler weather is on the way and with it will come the absence of gnats! I hope you can come again soon. We are having our first annual Lyrics on the Lake craft festival in October and you'll be sure to find something you love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

beautiful views, very adequate sized rm's,
BUT, TOO MANY BUGS
NATS BY THE THOUSANDS BY THE DAY AND SOME KIND OF HUGE FLYING INSECT BY THE HUNDREDS AT NIGHT
Also a rock concert went on until 12:30 AM
Called hotel twice for directios from the airport. Not one person could direct me to the hotel
Guess its ok if u live in Georgia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeBlackshear, Manager at Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I'm so sorry about the gnats! Unfortunately, they are a bit of a southern regularity. They do, however, disappear during the cooler months, so that would be a great time of year to visit. I also apologize that you were not able to get clear directions. From the Atlanta airport, the simplest route is to take exit 101 from I-75 S and drive west about 15 minutes on Hwy 280.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We chose Lake Blackshear Resort for our small family reunion because it was almost exactly a halfway point for two families. We rented two cabins, side by side. Each cabin had two bedrooms and each bedroom had two double beds. The beds were comfortable and clean (loved the quilts!), although double beds are always a problem in our family. They were fine for the 5 kids we had with us, but each adult needed their own bed. Queen beds would work much better. One cabin had a flat screen t.v. on the wall in one bedroom, the other cabin did not.

There was one bathroom, which was roomy and clean. Two large cupboards provided storage space for bathroom "stuff". What we really, really liked about the cabins was the spaciousness of the main area. Large open kitchen with lots of counter space, a dishwasher, full range and oven, microwave, full size fridge and coffee maker made it a fully equipped kitchen. We really loved the long counter area and used it as a buffet area for our meals.

The living room/dining room area was very large. Lots of space to move around and not feel like we were on top of one another, especially with 5 kids and their toys. The dining room table was awesome, long and had 8 chairs. We played lots of card games here and had a chair for everyone when we ate. The living room had a sofa, love seat, and rocking chair (all in nice condition) and we had a flat screen t.v. on the wall. One cabin had carpeting in the living room area, the other had wood floors.

Both cabins had fireplaces, which we didn't use because we were there in July. Both cabins also had a screened porch in the back with two rocking chairs. One cabin's screen on the door was totally loosened and flowing in the breeze, and thankfully that was not the cabin that the dog stayed in. Both cabins were right on the lake and one had a beautiful view from the porch....the other had a view of trees and brush but no water.

Upon arrival to the cabins, we were delighted to find them really chilled. In fact, it didn't take long before we were bumping up the a/c because we got cold. It was nice that the resort didn't try to be cheap like many do and have it too warm. With a large group, it would take a long time to cool it off enough to be able to sleep comfortably.

Bugs? Oh yea. But hey, this IS the South! We saw two <dead> roaches in the cabin, but had many gnats flying around our faces whenever we'd go outside. Comes with the territory. We grilled all our meals and used the make-shift hollowed-out gas grill as a barbeque as the typical style state park barbeque grill was broken in half. It ended up working great, and we had more room to grill than the usual grill had.

Activities - we arrived on a weekend that the SWAT teams were having their war games. It was pretty cool watching the helicopters taking off and flying over us. There is a memorial park as you drive in, with a military plane and army tanks that you can walk up to and check out. We went swimming in both pools while there, and need to warn you that they SAY they provide pool towels, but they are kept in the indoor pool area which is always locked. Both days, we had to go to the front desk and ask them to open the door to the indoor pool so we could get some towels (meanwhile dripping all over the lobby). Both pools are pretty small, and if you have children, you might want to stick to the outside pool because the inside pool is very echoey and LOUD (and I'm hard of hearing, ha). If you go swimming at the "beach" at the lake, Be warned, we named this beach the "Goose Poop Beach". A very large area of beach was just covered with <what we think was> goose poop. I'm not sure what they can do about this, maybe have someone come in every morning and clean it up a little bit. It was really disgusting.

There is one hiking trail that we saw. The husbands and kids decided to take this hike but cut it short because of the gnats. Again - this is the South.

Would we stay here again? Yes. Being halfway between the family members and having so much room in the cabins to visit and eat works perfectly for us for a short stay.

Room Tip: We had cabins #9 and #10. #10 is closest to the beach. There is a playground across from these ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeBlackshear, Front Office Manager at Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for choosing our resort for your family reunion! Since we are located within a state park, the evidence of local wild life is sometimes inconvenient, but I will pass along your comments to the park office, as they manage the beach area. We do have key entries on the pool doors, as the guests are the only ones allowed to swim. Fortunately, your room key is all that is needed to get inside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We often travel from Florida to Northeast Georgia, and stop along the way, usually staying in a hotel just off the highway. This time we decided it would be nice to spend more money and travel a few miles off the main route to this place advertised as a retreat. Oh how I wish I had not had not! I am sitting here in my room at 12:45 am and there is literally a rock concert going on outside my window. Not a good one either, but a drunken, amateurish karaoke type that is so loud it rattles the windows. When I called the front desk to see when they would be through with the concert, she said she did not know, but that it goes on every weekend and it is connected with the hotel. If you desire to stay up all night with drunken revelers and loud amateur music playing this is the place for you. But since this is called a retreat, I warn you do not be fooled, the only retreat you will want is one far away from this place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeBlackshear, Front Office Manager at Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Cypress Grill is a popular attraction for the state park and our resort, and they do have live entertainment on weekends. I apologize that you were kept awake by the music! The good news is that we have lodging from which the music would not be easily heard. We have 14 lodge rooms in the main building, as well as 32 villa rooms in Villas 5, 6, 7, and 8 that are often preferred by weekend guests who are not visiting Cypress Grill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I just stayed in this hotel in the Villas. First my online reservation could not be processed at the front desk as the only reservation manager was off. I was told to go somewhere and print out my email confirmation but there was no business center and it was 7:00 pm. After an hour the front desk staff allowed me to forward my email to them to print out. Unbelievable. I had to switch rooms twice first room was filthy, dirty doors, dirty switch plates, bathroom floor was very dirty and toilet didn't flush. Second room same filth but toilet flushed. Dried contacts were stuck to wall by trash. Bugs on ceiling smushed. Filthy shower walls and bathroom floors. For the money, not worth it. Restaurant equally challenging. Drive 2 miles to Daphne for same prices and 10 times the quality and service.

Room Tip: Stay in Cordele or check room out before you pay for room. I am from the area and have stayed here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeBlackshear, Front Office Manager at Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I'm so sorry you had an unpleasant experience. We strive for the very best in all areas, but we do have staff available for unforeseen instances, such as a non-flushing toilet. I will also be sure to review our methods of handling online reservations to ascertain a smoother experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My husband and I got a weekend & Golf get away June 29-July 1. This was our first time. Excellent check in service. Breakfast at Cordials was awesome and it is walking distance from villa. Like to walk, this is a beauiful place to do it. They have indoor and outdoor pool with a weight room. Veteran's museum is not far away with historial war information. If you like music they have live music close to the villas in walking distance. They have instructional activities, we
learned how to a bee keeper. Get information from the veteran museum. Our next time we are going to stay at a cottage, I want to check this out.

Room Tip: If you stay on weekend and don't like loud, live music, stay in villa 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeBlackshear, Front Office Manager at Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Bee keeping is very interesting and I'm pleased that you explored all the state park has to offer! Our rustic style cottages are definitely a favorite, and are located in a quiet area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club

Address: 2459 H US Highway 280 West, Cordele, GA 31015
Location: United States > Georgia > Cordele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Cordele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Blackshear Resort And Golf Club Hotel Cordele
Lake Blackshear Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Blackshear Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.