We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great real bar b q” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoakies Bar-B-Que

Smoakies Bar-B-Que
602 North Greer Street, Cordele, GA 31015
229-273-0802
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in Cordele
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great real bar b q”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great pit stop on our way to Atlanta based on previous reviews. Only a mile off of 75... True southern bar b que. Super attentive and kind staff. Don't miss your chance at a great meal! Will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great ribs, nice people!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

True to other reviews, this little BBQ spot is a few miles out into the country (next to a corn field, to be exact), and the ribs are really good and DO fall right off the bone! Our fried green tomatoes were good, the baked beans were VERY good, and the ladies who serve the food were really friendly.

It seemed like all of the customers in there were locals, other than us. We liked that aspect.

But, despite good food, I felt a little sad for ol' Smoakie. The place really needs a good sprucing up. A good cleaning, fresh paint over the water leak stains on the ceiling, a few obvious repairs to be made, and a sprucing up of the exterior would greatly enhance the ambiance of this little BBQ joint.

Mom notes: Pretty clean restroom but you'll have to change the little one in the car as it is a tiny bathroom. Kids menu available. Friendly waitresses. Bring your own coloring book and crayons. Short wait for food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro Atlanta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A great place you'd never stop at unless you know about it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I'd never stop at this place from the looks of it on the outside...the sign is so faded that I thought it was closed. Being an odd time of the day, there were no other customers when we arrived. The waitress/cashier was friendly and efficient. The ribs, bbq, slaw, and other sides were delicious. Lots of sauces to choose from. Banana pudding was homemade and very tasty. Prices were reasonable and they charged the same for all the side items whether it was a bag of chips or brunswick stew. I'd go back again if in the area. Not a white table cloth, fine dining establishment, but that wasn't what we went for. We went for good bbq and we got it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“May be a tad over rated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I rely on Tripadvisor when roaming around on our trips and found ourselves in Cordele for lunch. Smoakies's was rated #1 so we were game. We drove just a little out of the way to get there. The place has local charactor, of which we love. The server, and even the cook, had lots of southern personality and did a good job. The locals even joined in our conversations! We ordered home made pork rinds expecting hot out of a fryer; they were like eating out of a bag from the grocery, in other words they could be fried on site but not to order. The fried green tomatoes were thin enough to read a paper through and the batter was less than adequate. Now let's mention the rest of the food.....the chopped pork was as good as I have had. The ribs were so tender they fell off the bone. The sides were as good as anywhere. The bananna pudding was really good. Overall, I would not drive out of my way to go back but if I was in the neighborhood I would not object to a second visit, if nothing else for the local flare!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Friendly folks and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The barbeque ribs were indeed falling off the bone good. The service was great and all of the fixins were good. But the portions seemed small for what they were charging. I had the rib plate (6 ribs) with Brunswick stew, onion rings, and sweet tea. Even with a couple of slices of white bread to soak up some barbeque sauce, it didn't seem like $16 worth of food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoakies Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Smoakies Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoakies Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.