We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza in the South” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
1880 Hwy 20 SE, Conyers, GA 30013-2046
(770) 761-4500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 154 Restaurants in Conyers
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Conyers, Georgia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in the South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I moved to Georgia in April of last year (2012) from Boston. The pizza in the south is much different from the pizza in the north however the Mellow Mushroom is the best pizza in the south that we have found in the year we have been here. The pizza crust is both crusty and chewy in all the right places. The toppings are interesting and inventive, though they certainly have room to push the envelope even further. We sat at the stools that look upon the kitchen on this visit for the first time, and while it was a saturday nightm and very busy, everything seemed to be running like a fine oiled machine. It was fun to watch them make the pizza's and juggle for open space in the ovens. I would have rated this visit 100% but for the fact that we tried a Muffaletta appetizer that was not that great. It was a thick olive tempenade on French bread with melted Mozzarella cheese on top. Too strong a salt and flavor profile to go well together. Other than that, the service and food were excellent as always.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Really, really good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Pretty consistent on everything. Not every store has the Hippy Dippy Trio, which I recommend. The dough here is better than other MM stores and other pizza places. The beer is always cold, and there are enough TVs. I think they should rethink their wings, but don't ever change the Might Meaty pizza! Atlanta Pizza and Gyro down the street is pretty good too, but MM is a better experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Ga.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Far out, man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Presumably named after the mushroom that sent Alice to Wonderland, Mellow Mushroom has some of the best pizza I've ever had. Thick, cheesy and loaded with whatever toppings your munchies dictate, your taste buds will thank you for making the trip to Mellow Mushroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“It's o.k.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Mellow Mushroom has pizza that is good but not exceptional. The pie crust is probably the best part of the pizza. They do have a decent selection of beers and there are plenty of TV screens to catch the various games being played. Service is good. It's popular and they have maxed out on tables to floor space. Good for them. MM also has salads, sandwiches, etc.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Piece of Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

While dining at Mellow Mushroom for the first time, we were plesantly suprised with themany choices of pizza offered. We decided to go with the "Hey Dude", which is a specialty pizza for this location. It was wonderful, the food came out hot and the server was friendly. The place was crowded and still the kitchen staff had our food out in no time at all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.