We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5020 Armour Road, Columbus, GA 31904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Okeechobee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were very impressed with staff. Our room was not available for the first night. Management went out of their way to find us a room at another hotel just around the corner. Stayed at ESA the second night. Rooms are older but clean, area was quiet. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Angie - It is so rewarding to read that you had a pleasurable stay with us. I truly appreciate your comments regarding how well the staff took care of you. It brings us joy knowing that we were able to make such a good impression with a valued guest, like yourself.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    2
    6
    8
See reviews for
11
1
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had reservations at the other ESA in town but had to change when the dates of our stay shifted. Was "lucky" we got there before the lobby is locked but was not about to use that nasty elevator a second time. The dead bug embedded in the blanket, the non-working kitchen electric plug, the jacked-up toilet and towels that were more like an emery cloth were nasty enough. The location next to the highway with no noise reduction and gaps around the door meant it was very noisy - of course the residents honking for attention, yelling down to the parking lot and exercising above us made for many early AM wake-ups. It was cheap - boy, was it cheap.

Room Tip: The front doesn't get as much highway noise and, if you can handle the stairs, 3rd floor avoids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. The situation that you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have implemented new procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated.

Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very thankful for your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at cap@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

So, I've been to many ESA's around the country. This particular one seems to have too many "permanent" residents, so you can imagine the fabulous environment that creates. This was by far the loudest, poorly-managed, and most-uncomfortable one ever. It was way over-priced too for an ESA! Loud kids everywhere, smokers all around, and like some other ESAs the walls are paper-thin and rattle whenever somebody so much as sneezes two rooms away from yours. I was in a "non-smoking" room while the one right next to me was "smoking" (poor managerial decision - and both were at the end of the building so that's just stupid). The fumes would not only go through the windows and door, but also through the walls. The queen-style suite was much smaller than the usual ones I'm used to at other ESAs. Was there for a month, and am very happy to be done with this "hotel" (and this overall nasty town, too - sorry). I do have to add that the one front office lady that I dealt with was very professional and nice, also......ergh, no thats about it about this place.... Good luck!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff; however, we apologize that your one-month stay did not meet your expectations. To uphold our company's high standards, we are working to improve our housekeeping services and the way we place guests throughout the hotel, specifically smokers vs. non-smokers.

I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly, at cap@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had reserved a block of rooms for a special family celebration in a restaurant next to this property. While we did not expect quality of the Ritz, we certainly did not expect the worst of all possible properties. The staff attitudes and rudeness only added to a terrible experience. We have advised the restaurant (The Buckhead Bar and Grill in Columbus, which is exceptionally fabulous, friendly, and of a high caliber) that they shouldn't refer anyone asking about nearby accommodations to this motel. We travel extensively, staying in all kinds of properties. This is hands-down the absolute worst - - terrible condition of hotel, the surliness of staff - - we have ever stayed in. All of our relatives (10 rooms in all) had the same reaction to this property. We would sleep in the car before we would ever consider staying here again.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. The location of the hotel is good only because there are several other hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I should first note that this was a cheap hotel, so I really wasn't expecting very much. We arrived in the late evening and first thing on arrival, my son and his girlfriend witnessed a vehicle back into another in the parking lot and drive off. When they reported it to the front desk, with a description and a partial plate number of the drive-off, the desk clerk said, "I know whose car got hit. I'm sure glad I won't be here in the morning when she finds it." No indication that she intended to call the hotel guest and give them the opportunity to report it to the police.

My son said it best: "Mom, this place is kind of sketchy."

The rooms were tiny and pretty run down: the beds were uncomfortable and the sheets were so threadbare they were nearly transparent. The coffee cups in the full kitchen (one of the reasons I reserved this hotel) were cracked, one to the point that it leaked. There was a huge gap under the door, which opened to the outside, and I kept thinking about bugs crawling underneath it. It suffices to say that we didn't leave anything on the floor. There isn't daily housekeeping, which is fine, but when I tried to get a packet of coffee from the front desk, they had locked the lobby door a half hour early and when I called them they said, "We don't have any." I was able to get one off the housekeeper's cart in the morning.

People obviously smoked in the elevator, which delivered the defining moment of our stay there: The elevator opened on the ground floor and out stepped this wild-eyed old guy with a pit bull on a leash and a urine bag strapped to his leg.

Sketchy indeed.

Room Tip: Don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESH-RDO, Owner at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Columbus - Airport. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We specialize in providing guests with the amenities and service they require for an enjoyable stay at an exceptional rate. In the case of housekeeping, our standard service schedule provides one full housekeeping after every seven days stayed, with the option to purchase additional housekeeping services as desired. Operating our business in this way allows us to continue offering the same great rates to which our guests have become accustomed.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

The staff are so helpful respectful and extremely nice and fun makes me feel like this is my home from home and super clean!! They are never unorganized never had a problem with my room. Everything is done to make sure that I'm happy and comfortable while I'm stay in Columbus. Its a very safe environment and location!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESH-RDO, Owner at Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to respond. Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff. I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.


"Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay America Columbus - Airport. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport

Address: 5020 Armour Road, Columbus, GA 31904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Columbus Airport
Columbus Extended Stay
Extended Stay Columbus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Columbus - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.