We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party of 7 very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country's On Broad

Country's On Broad
1329 Broadway, Columbus, GA 31901
(706) 596-8910
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 447 Restaurants in Columbus
Restaurant details
Anaheim Hills, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Party of 7 very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Seated altogether and everyone had a different selection. Meat was very dry for barbecued meat. Everyone tasted everyone else's selection. No one really found the food outstanding. One guest had a pork plate that ended up being all grissle. When the food server finally returned and we mentioned this, you could see the look on her face and body language communicating 'so what do you want me to do?' (although not said verbally). She then asked if the guest wanted another plate of the same selection. Of course he did not. Daughter-in-law was referred to this restaurant by other online mothers whose son was based at Ft Benning. We would not visit this restaurant again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant - Loved It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We enjoyed dinner at Country's on the recommendation of a friend. We were not disappointed. The barbeque ribs were meaty and lusious, veges were tastey, especially the mac-n-cheese. The pies we enjoyed were delicious. Our non-bar-b-que eater got a turkey sandwich and had no complaints. Cornbread was great as well. An old-timey bus is attached to the exterior and has seating from inside the building. Kinda cool.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The bus station still serves the best BBQ in town and the atmosphere is properly urban. the whitewater course is bringing some new faces to an old standard.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“benchmark BBQ, just not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I would like to think that living in the south for so many years, I am a BBQ expert. I atytend many BBQ master cook offs and I have sampled many brands. Country's sets the mark for most BBQ here, but sometimes the quality of food is lacking on a busy day. I prefer out of all BBQ ;places in Columbus to point people to my favorite BBQ place (Pepper's on Warm Springs road). Pepper's will never be as large as Country's, and Country's will produce good food at large quantities on demand with al the trimmings. However, Pepper's has quality and cleanliness hands down in my book.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, FL
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We drove past Country's earlier in the afternoon and decided to check it out for dinner. This is at an old converted Greyhound Bus Terminal building that they have done a great job in keeping some of the feel along with a bus that you can dine in. They do quite the business and the food and desserts were great. The service was great too. I would go there anytime.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country's On Broad also viewed

 

Been to Country's On Broad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country's On Broad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.